10 Facts About Agave


Agave is a genus of monocots native to the hot and arid regions of the Americas, although some Agave species are native to tropical areas of South America.

FactSnippet No. 1,305,092

Agave now includes species formerly placed in a number of other genera, such as Manfreda, ×Mangave, Polianthes and Prochnyanthes.

FactSnippet No. 1,305,093

Some Agave species are known by the common name "century plant".

FactSnippet No. 1,305,094

Succulent leaves of most Agave species have sharp marginal teeth, an extremely sharp terminal spine, and are very fibrous inside.

FactSnippet No. 1,305,095

Agave vilmoriniana produces hundreds of pups on its bloom stalk.

FactSnippet No. 1,305,096

Genus Agave was erected by Carl Linnaeus in 1753, initially with four species.

FactSnippet No. 1,305,097

When this system was superseded by the APG III system in 2009, the Agavaceae were subsumed into the expanded family Asparagaceae, and Agave was treated as one of 18 genera in the subfamily Agavoideae, a position retained in the APG IV system of 2016.

FactSnippet No. 1,305,098

Traditionally, the genus Agave was circumscribed to be composed of about 166 species.

FactSnippet No. 1,305,099

In some of the older classifications, Agave was divided into two subgenera, Agave and Littaea, based on the form of the inflorescence.

FactSnippet No. 1,305,100

Agave can be used as the raw material for industrial production of fructans as a prebiotic dietary fiber.

FactSnippet No. 1,305,101