14 Facts About Amin Maalouf


Amin Maalouf is a Lebanese-born French author who has lived in France since 1976.

FactSnippet No. 529,759

Amin Maalouf received the Prix Goncourt in 1993 for his novel The Rock of Tanios, as well as the 2010 Prince of Asturias Award for Literature.

FactSnippet No. 529,760

Amin Maalouf was born in Beirut, Lebanon, and grew up in the Badaro cosmopolitan neighborhood, the second of four children.

FactSnippet No. 529,761

Amin Maalouf's father was from the Melkite Catholic community near the village of Baskinta in Ain el Qabou.

FactSnippet No. 529,762

Amin Maalouf's was born in Egypt and lived there for many years before coming back to Lebanon; she lived in France until her passing in 2021 at the age of 100 years.

FactSnippet No. 529,763

Amin Maalouf's mother was a staunch Maronite Catholic who insisted on sending him to College Notre Dame de Jamhour, a French Jesuit school.

FactSnippet No. 529,764

Amin Maalouf studied sociology at the Francophone Universite Saint-Joseph in Beirut.

FactSnippet No. 529,765

Amin Maalouf worked as the director of An-Nahar, a Beirut-based daily newspaper, until the start of the Lebanese civil war in 1975, when he moved to Paris, which became his permanent home.

FactSnippet No. 529,766

Amin Maalouf has been awarded honorary doctorates by the Catholic University of Louvain, the American University of Beirut (Lebanon), the Rovira i Virgili University (Spain), the University of Evora (Portugal), and the University of Ottawa (Canada).

FactSnippet No. 529,767

In 1993, Amin Maalouf was awarded the Prix Goncourt for his novel The Rock of Tanios, set in 19th-century Lebanon.

FactSnippet No. 529,768

Amin Maalouf was elected a member of the Academie francaise on 23 June 2011 to fill seat 29, left vacant by the death of anthropologist Claude Levi-Strauss.

FactSnippet No. 529,769

Amin Maalouf is the first person of Lebanese heritage to receive that honor.

FactSnippet No. 529,770

Amin Maalouf's novels are marked by his experiences of civil war and migration.

FactSnippet No. 529,771

All Amin Maalouf's librettos have been written for the Finnish composer Kaija Saariaho.

FactSnippet No. 529,772