19 Facts About Amitav Ghosh


Amitav Ghosh was born on 11 July 1956 and is an Indian writer.

FactSnippet No. 2,086,169

Amitav Ghosh won the 54th Jnanpith award in 2018, India's highest literary honor.

FactSnippet No. 2,086,170

Amitav Ghosh has written historical fiction and written non-fiction works discussing topics such as colonialism and climate change.

FactSnippet No. 2,086,171

Amitav Ghosh studied at The Doon School, Dehradun, and earned a doctorate in social anthropology at the University of Oxford.

FactSnippet No. 2,086,172

Amitav Ghosh worked at the Indian Express newspaper in New Delhi and several academic institutions.

FactSnippet No. 2,086,173

Amitav Ghosh holds two Lifetime Achievement awards and four honorary doctorates.

FactSnippet No. 2,086,174

Amitav Ghosh was the first English-language writer to receive the award.

FactSnippet No. 2,086,175

Amitav Ghosh was born in Calcutta on 11 July 1956 and was educated at the all-boys boarding school The Doon School in Dehradun.

FactSnippet No. 2,086,176

Amitav Ghosh then won the Inlaks Foundation scholarship to complete a D Phil.

FactSnippet No. 2,086,177

Amitav Ghosh was awarded the Padma Shri by the Indian government in 2007.

FactSnippet No. 2,086,178

Amitav Ghosh returned to India to begin working on the Ibis trilogy which includes Sea of Poppies, River of Smoke, and Flood of Fire.

FactSnippet No. 2,086,179

Amitav Ghosh is the author of The Circle of Reason, The Shadow Lines, The Calcutta Chromosome, The Glass Palace and The Hungry Tide.

FactSnippet No. 2,086,180

Amitav Ghosh began working on what became The Ibis trilogy in 2004.

FactSnippet No. 2,086,181

In 2021, Amitav Ghosh published his first book in verse, Jungle Nama, which explores the Sundarbans legend of Bon Bibi.

FactSnippet No. 2,086,182

Amitav Ghosh's writings appear in newspapers and magazines in India and abroad.

FactSnippet No. 2,086,183

Amitav Ghosh received – together with Margaret Atwood – the Israeli Dan David Prize.

FactSnippet No. 2,086,184

Amitav Ghosh famously withdrew his novel The Glass Palace from consideration for the Commonwealth Writers' Prize, where it was awarded the best novel in the Eurasian section, citing his objections to the term "commonwealth" and the unfairness of the English language requirement specified in the rules.

FactSnippet No. 2,086,185

Amitav Ghosh received the lifetime achievement award at Tata Literature Live, the Mumbai LitFest on 20 November 2016.

FactSnippet No. 2,086,186

Amitav Ghosh was conferred the 54th Jnanpith award in December 2018 and is the first Indian writer in English to have been chosen for this honour.

FactSnippet No. 2,086,187