17 Facts About Anne McLaughlin


Anne McLaughlin was born on 8 March 1966 and is a Scottish National Party politician serving as the Member of Parliament for Glasgow North East since 2019, and previously from 2015 to 2017.


Anne McLaughlin was previously a Member of the Scottish Parliament from 2009 to 2011.


Anne McLaughlin was elected to the House of Commons at the 2015 general election but was defeated at the 2017 general election by Paul Sweeney of Scottish Labour.


At the 2019 general election, McLaughlin regained the seat with a majority of 2,548 votes.


Anne McLaughlin was born and raised in Greenock but has lived in Glasgow for many years.


Anne McLaughlin attended Port Glasgow High School, graduating in 1984.


Anne McLaughlin then attended the Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama and the University of Glasgow.


Anne McLaughlin joined the SNP after the 1988 Govan by-election.


Anne McLaughlin contested Glasgow Springburn in the 2007 Scottish Parliament election, finishing second, and had previously contested the Glasgow Rutherglen seat at the 2001 UK general election and the similar Glasgow Rutherglen seat at the 2003 Scottish Parliament election.


Anne McLaughlin was SNP campaign co-ordinator when John Mason won the 2008 Glasgow East by-election.


Anne McLaughlin became a regional member for Glasgow on 6 February 2009, following the death of Bashir Ahmad, as the next person on the SNP's regional list.


Anne McLaughlin has championed the cause of English language skills in Glasgow school-children.


Anne McLaughlin was a member of the Public Audit and Public Petitions parliamentary committees.


Anne McLaughlin contested the Glasgow Provan constituency in the May 2011 Scottish Parliament election but was unsuccessful.


Anne McLaughlin was chosen by party members at a selection meeting in Greenock to contest the Inverclyde constituency in the June 2011 UK Parliament by-election.


Anne McLaughlin was elected to the UK Parliament in the 2015 general election, for the Glasgow North East constituency.


Anne McLaughlin regained the seat from Sweeney at the snap general election in 2019 with a majority of 2,548 votes.