11 Facts About Argyll


Argyll is of ancient origin, and corresponds to most of the part of the ancient kingdom of on Great Britain.

FactSnippet No. 2,213,790

Argyll was a medieval bishopric with its cathedral at Lismore, as well as an early modern earldom and dukedom, the Dukedom of Argyll.

FactSnippet No. 2,213,791

Between 1890 and 1975, Argyll was an administrative county with a county council.

FactSnippet No. 2,213,792

Term North Argyll historically referred to what is called Wester Ross.

FactSnippet No. 2,213,793

The topography of south Argyll is in general heavily mountainous and sparsely populated, with numerous lochs; Kintyre is slightly flatter though still hilly.

FactSnippet No. 2,213,794

Related searches

Great Britain

However, the sheriffdom had only been created to oversee the forfeited MacDougall territory of Lorn, the southern parts of Argyll remained part of the quasi-independent Lordship of the Isles until the late 15th century.

FactSnippet No. 2,213,795

The sheriffdom of Argyll was an inherited position, and had remained in the Campbell family, and now it was extended to include Islay and Jura.

FactSnippet No. 2,213,796

Argyll thus gained a county council, which lasted until 1975.

FactSnippet No. 2,213,797

County town of Argyll was historically Inveraray, which is still the seat of the Duke of Argyll.

FactSnippet No. 2,213,798

Concept of a County of Argyll ceased for local government purposes in 1975, with its area being split between Highland and Strathclyde Regions.

FactSnippet No. 2,213,799

The Ardnamurchan, Ardgour, Ballachulish, Duror, Glencoe, Kinlochleven and Morvern areas of Argyll were detached to become parts of Lochaber District, in Highland.

FactSnippet No. 2,213,800