10 Facts About Azawad


Azawad, or Azawagh was a short-lived unrecognised state from 2012 to 2013.

FactSnippet No. 522,290

Azawad, as claimed by the MNLA, comprises the Malian regions of Timbuktu, Kidal, Gao, as well as a part of Mopti region, encompassing about 60 percent of Mali's total land area.

FactSnippet No. 522,291

The proclamation was never recognised by any foreign entity, and the MNLA's claim to have de facto control of the Azawad region was disputed by both the Malian government and Islamist insurgent groups in the Sahara.

FactSnippet No. 522,292

The Economic Community of West African States, which refused to recognise Azawad and called the declaration of its independence "null and void", warned it could send troops into the disputed region in support of the Malian claim.

FactSnippet No. 522,293

On 14 February 2013, the MNLA renounced its claim of independence for Azawad and asked the Malian government to start negotiations on its future status.

FactSnippet No. 522,294

Related searches

Islamist Sahara West African

Azawad authorities did not officially confirm any change of name.

FactSnippet No. 522,295

The MNLA produced a list of the 28 members of the Transitional Council of the State of Azawad serving as a provisional government with President Bilal Ag Acherif to manage the new State of Azawad.

FactSnippet No. 522,296

About 6500 BC, Azawad was a 90, 000-square kilometres marshy and lake basin.

FactSnippet No. 522,297

Azawad said that negotiations with terrorists had been ruled out, but negotiations with other armed factions were still open.

FactSnippet No. 522,298

Azawad, as proclaimed by the MNLA, includes the regions of Gao, Timbuktu, Kidal, and the northeast half of Mopti; until 1991, when the new Kidal Region was created, it formed the northern portion of Gao Region.

FactSnippet No. 522,299