11 Facts About County Armagh


County Armagh is one of the six counties of Northern Ireland and one of the traditional thirty-two counties of Ireland.

FactSnippet No. 2,276,422

County Armagh is known as the "Orchard County" because of its many apple orchards.

FactSnippet No. 2,276,423

Ancient County Armagh was the territory of the Ulaid before the fourth century AD.

FactSnippet No. 2,276,424

County Armagh was divided into several baronies: County Armagh was held by the O'Rogans, Lower Fews was held by O'Neill of the Fews, and Upper Fews were under governance of the O'Larkins, who were later displaced by the MacCanns.

FactSnippet No. 2,276,425

County Armagh was the seat of St Patrick, and the Catholic Church continues to be his see.

FactSnippet No. 2,276,426

County Armagh is presently one of four counties of Northern Ireland to have a majority of the population from a Catholic background, according to the 2011 census.

FactSnippet No. 2,276,427

South County Armagh is predominantly nationalist, with much of the population being opposed to any form of British presence, especially that of a military nature.

FactSnippet No. 2,276,428

County Armagh remains officially used for purposes such as a Lieutenancy area – the county retains a lord lieutenant who acts as representative of the British Monarch in the county.

FactSnippet No. 2,276,429

County Armagh remains as a district for legal and property purposes; however, its baronies no longer have any administrative use.

FactSnippet No. 2,276,430

County Armagh once had a well-developed railway network with connections to, among others, County Armagh City, Culloville, Goraghwood, Markethill, Vernersbridge, Tynan but today only Newry, Portadown, Poyntzpass, Scarva, and Lurgan are served by rail.

FactSnippet No. 2,276,431

County Armagh is traversed by the Ulster Canal and the Newry Canal which are not fully open to navigation.

FactSnippet No. 2,276,432