12 Facts About County Galway


County Galway originally comprised several kingdoms and territories which predate the formation of the county.

FactSnippet No. 1,214,305

County Galway includes a number of inhabited islands, such as the Aran Islands and Inishbofin .

FactSnippet No. 1,214,306

County Galway is home to the largest Gaeltacht Irish-speaking region in Ireland.

FactSnippet No. 1,214,307

County Galway City is home to Ireland's only Irish-language theatre, Taibhdhearc na Gaillimhe.

FactSnippet No. 1,214,308

Galway City Council and Galway County Council are the local authorities for the respective local government areas.

FactSnippet No. 1,214,309

The local government area of County Galway includes some suburbs of the city not within the city area.

FactSnippet No. 1,214,310

Under the Local Government Act 1898, County Galway was divided into the urban districts of Ballinasloe and Galway, and the rural districts of Ballinasloe No 1, Clifden, Galway, Glennamaddy, Gort, Loughrea, Mount Bellew, Oughterard, Portumna, and Tuam.

FactSnippet No. 1,214,311

County Galway is home to Na Beanna Beola mountain range, Na Sleibhte Mham Toirc, and the low mountains of Sliabh Echtghe .

FactSnippet No. 1,214,312

County Galway is partly home to a number of Ireland's largest lakes including Lough Corrib, Lough Derg and Lough Mask.

FactSnippet No. 1,214,313

Location of County Galway, situated on the west coast of Ireland, allows it to be directly influenced by the Gulf Stream.

FactSnippet No. 1,214,314

County Galway had traditional regions in which Gaelic football or hurling is played.

FactSnippet No. 1,214,315

County Galway United FC compete in the SSE Aitricity League of Ireland and plays home games in Eamonn Deacy Park.

FactSnippet No. 1,214,316