10 Facts About FC Tucson


FC Tucson is an American soccer club based in Tucson, Arizona that plays in USL League Two.

FactSnippet No. 2,077,435

FC Tucson was founded in 2010 to bring preseason Major League Soccer events to Tucson and generate interest in a new soccer club.

FactSnippet No. 2,077,436

Later in 2011 FC Tucson competed against various teams from the region in a loosely organized exhibition league.

FactSnippet No. 2,077,437

In May 2013 FC Tucson notched back-to-back victories over professional clubs to reach the third round of the 2013 Lamar Hunt US Open Cup.

FactSnippet No. 2,077,438

In 2014, competing in the newly created Mountain Division, FC Tucson won its first division title with 11 wins, 1 draw, and 2 losses in league play.

FactSnippet No. 2,077,439

FC Tucson was purchased by Phoenix Rising FC of the United Soccer League, now known as the USL Championship, on October 11,2017, and initially served as its PDL affiliate.

FactSnippet No. 2,077,440

FC Tucson became the second team to join the USL Division III league on February 6,2018.

FactSnippet No. 2,077,441

On February 18,2021, FC Tucson announced that Benevolent Sports Tucson LLC, led by Brett Johnson, completed the transfer of ownership from Phoenix Rising FC.

FactSnippet No. 2,077,442

FC Tucson's badge was designed by Erik von Weber prior to the 2011 Desert Cup.

FactSnippet No. 2,077,443

In 2014 FC Tucson announced the Southwestern Showdown, an annual series with Albuquerque Sol FC, a PDL expansion team placed with Tucson in the Western Conference's newly formed Mountain Division.

FactSnippet No. 2,077,444