10 Facts About Kamakura shogunate


Kamakura shogunate was the feudal military government of Japan during the Kamakura period from 1185 to 1333.

FactSnippet No. 638,593

Kamakura shogunate was established by Minamoto no Yoritomo after victory in the Genpei War and appointing himself as shogun.

FactSnippet No. 638,594

The Kamakura shogunate shoguns were members of the Minamoto clan until 1226, the Fujiwara clan until 1252, and the last six were minor princes of the imperial family.

FactSnippet No. 638,595

The Kamakura shogunate saw the Jokyu War in 1221 and the Mongol invasions of Japan under Kublai Khan in 1274 and 1281.

FactSnippet No. 638,596

The Kamakura shogunate was overthrown in the Kenmu Restoration under Emperor Go-Daigo in 1333, re-establishing Imperial rule until Ashikaga Takauji overthrew the imperial government and founded the Ashikaga shogunate in 1336.

FactSnippet No. 638,597

The Kamakura shogunate had rejected Kublai's demands to submit with contempt.

FactSnippet No. 638,598

Two further decades the Kamakura shogunate maintained a watch in case the Mongols attempted another invasion.

FactSnippet No. 638,599

In 1331, Emperor Go-Daigo took arms against Kamakura shogunate, but was defeated by Kamakura shogunate's Ashikaga Takauji and exiled to Oki Island, in today's Shimane Prefecture.

FactSnippet No. 638,600

Kamakura shogunate functioned within the framework of the Heian system of Imperial rule.

FactSnippet No. 638,601

Kamakura shogunate appointed stewards, or jito, to positions in the manors .

FactSnippet No. 638,602