15 Facts About Languedoc


Territory falling within the jurisdiction of the Estates of Languedoc, which convened for the first time in 1346, shrank progressively, becoming known during the Ancien Regime as the province of Languedoc.

FactSnippet No. 989,485

Towards the end of 14th century, the term "country of the three seneschalties", later to become known as Languedoc, designated the two bailiwicks of Beucaire-Nimes and Carcassona, and the eastern part of Tolosa, retained under the Treaty of Bretigny.

FactSnippet No. 989,486

Governors of Languedoc resided in Pezenas, on the Mediterranean coast, away from Toulouse but close to Montpellier.

FactSnippet No. 989,487

Administrative purposes, Languedoc was divided in two generalites, the generalite of Toulouse and the generalite of Montpellier, the combined territory of the two generalities exactly matching that of the gouvernement of Languedoc.

FactSnippet No. 989,488

At the head of a generality was an intendant, but in the case of Languedoc there was only one intendant responsible for both generalities, and he was often referred to as the intendant of Languedoc, even though technically speaking he was in fact the intendant of the generality of Toulouse and intendant of the generality of Montpellier.

FactSnippet No. 989,489

The intendants of Languedoc resided in Montpellier, and they had a sub-delegate in Toulouse.

FactSnippet No. 989,490

The intendants replaced the governors as administrators of Languedoc, but appointed and dismissed at will by the king, they were no threat to the central state in Versailles.

FactSnippet No. 989,491

Judicial and legislative matters, Languedoc was overseen by the Parliament of Toulouse, founded in the middle of the 15th century.

FactSnippet No. 989,492

Languedoc proper was one of the very few provinces of France which had the privilege to decide over tax matters, the kings of France having suppressed the provincial states in most other provinces of the kingdom.

FactSnippet No. 989,493

The States of Languedoc met in many different cities, and for some time they established themselves in Pezenas, but in the 18th century they were relocated definitively to Montpellier, where they met once a year, until 1789.

FactSnippet No. 989,494

Christian religious purposes, Languedoc was divided into a certain number of ecclesiastical provinces, including the archdiocese of Toulouse, the archdiocese of Narbonne, and the archdiocese of Albi.

FactSnippet No. 989,495

Population of the former province of Languedoc is currently the fastest-growing in France, and among the fastest-growing in Europe, as an increasing flow of people from northern France and the north of Europe relocating to the sunbelt of Europe, in which Languedoc is located.

FactSnippet No. 989,496

However, the interior of Languedoc is still losing inhabitants, which increases the difference of density that was mentioned.

FactSnippet No. 989,497

Wines from the Mediterranean coast of Languedoc are labeled as Languedoc, those from the interior have other labels such as Fronton, Gaillac, or Limoux to the west – and Cotes du Rhone towards the east.

FactSnippet No. 989,498

Property in the Languedoc is quite varied and ranges from newly built villas with swimming pools and tennis courts, to old village houses set into the old ramparts of ancient fortified towns.

FactSnippet No. 989,499