19 Facts About Niki Terpstra


Niki Terpstra is a Dutch racing cyclist, who rides for UCI ProTeam Team TotalEnergies.

FactSnippet No. 2,202,343

Niki Terpstra is the brother of fellow racing cyclist Mike Terpstra.

FactSnippet No. 2,202,344

Niki Terpstra was born on 18 May 1984 in Beverwijk in the Netherlands.

FactSnippet No. 2,202,345

Niki Terpstra was part of the silver medal-winning team in the team pursuit in the 2005 UCI Track Cycling World Championships, together with Levi Heimans, Jens Mouris and Peter Schep.

FactSnippet No. 2,202,346

In 2009 Niki Terpstra won the 3rd stage in the Criterium du Dauphine Libere, gaining the yellow leader jersey at the same time, keeping it for a day.

FactSnippet No. 2,202,347

In 2012, Niki Terpstra took a prestigious victory at the Dwars door Vlaanderen, winning in solo fashion after being on the attack all day.

FactSnippet No. 2,202,348

Niki Terpstra dropped Wallays on the Paterberg and finished the race with an advantage of 47 seconds over Frenchman Sylvain Chavanel.

FactSnippet No. 2,202,349

Niki Terpstra continued his good form in the classics, placing fifth in Omloop Het Nieuwsblad, winning the Dwars door Vlaanderen for the second time in his career, and placing sixth in the Tour of Flanders.

FactSnippet No. 2,202,350

In 2015, Niki Terpstra defended his Tour of Qatar title, holding the race lead after winning the individual time trial on Stage 3.

FactSnippet No. 2,202,351

At Omloop Het Nieuwsblad, Niki Terpstra made the decisive breakaway of four riders with teammates Tom Boonen and Stijn Vandenbergh, along with Ian Stannard.

FactSnippet No. 2,202,352

Niki Terpstra then got on the second step of the podium of a very windy Gent–Wevelgem, as he won the two-man sprint for second position after Luca Paolini had crossed the line solo.

FactSnippet No. 2,202,353

In 2016, Niki Terpstra won the Eneco Tour after a dramatic rain-swept final stage that saw former race leader Rohan Dennis crash out.

FactSnippet No. 2,202,354

Niki Terpstra, who started the final stage in fifth place overall, formed part of a front group of three riders and finished second behind stage winner Edvald Boasson Hagen.

FactSnippet No. 2,202,355

In 2018, Niki Terpstra won E3 Harelbeke, soloing to the line after initially attacking on the Taaienberg with teammate Yves Lampaert with more than 70 kilometres remaining.

FactSnippet No. 2,202,356

Niki Terpstra finished 20 seconds clear of an elite group, led home by his team-mate Philippe Gilbert, and he became the first Dutchman to win E3 Harelbeke since Steven de Jongh in 2003.

FactSnippet No. 2,202,357

Niki Terpstra remained clear over the remaining 25 kilometres, finishing 12 seconds ahead of Trek–Segafredo's Mads Pedersen from the earlier breakaway, and by teammate and defending race-winner Gilbert who led the bunch home in third.

FactSnippet No. 2,202,358

The following week, Niki Terpstra claimed third place at Paris–Roubaix, leading home a group 57 seconds behind winner Peter Sagan and Silvan Dillier.

FactSnippet No. 2,202,359

In September 2022 Niki Terpstra announced his retirement from professional road racing.

FactSnippet No. 2,202,360

In 2021, Niki Terpstra launched his own casual clothing line, Speed On Wheels, together with Futurum.

FactSnippet No. 2,202,361