30 Facts About Paul Epworth


Paul Richard Epworth was born on 25 July 1974 and is an English record producer, songwriter, musician, and remixer.


Paul Epworth has worked with artists including Adele, Florence and the Machine, Rihanna, and Maximo Park, among many others.


Paul Epworth is a member of the Music Producers Guild and is the founder and owner of the independent record label Wolf Tone, which has released music from Glass Animals, Rosie Lowe, and The Horrors.


Paul Epworth has won seven Grammy Awards, as well as the Academy Award for Best Original Song for "Skyfall".


Paul Epworth released his debut studio album Voyager in 2020.


Paul Richard Epworth was born in Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire, on 25 July 1974.


From 2002 to 2004, Paul Epworth provided lead vocals and guitar for the band Lomax.


Paul Epworth is well known for his remix work under the name "Phones".


Paul Epworth began to gain recognition with this moniker based on his work with Bloc Party's track "Banquet"; he has since provided remix work for New Order, U2, P-Diddy, Goldfrapp, Nine Inch Nails, Simian Mobile Disco, The Streets, Interpol, Tom Vek, Death from Above 1979, Annie and Coldplay.


In early 2006, Paul Epworth began making music under another alias, 'Epic Man'.


Paul Epworth has since returned to his Phones name and there are no known plans to release under Epic Man again.


Paul Epworth wrote and produced tracks for British rappers, Kano and Plan B This was followed in 2006 by production work on Pieces of the People We Love by The Rapture and the debut album by French band Black Strobe, entitled Burn Your Own Church.


In 2007, Paul Epworth began to contribute more co-writing credits alongside his production.


Paul Epworth completed production duties on much of the new Bloc Party record, Intimacy and co-wrote and produced Friendly Fires track "Jump In The Pool".


Early 2009 saw Paul Epworth co-writing and recording Jack Penate's critically lauded second album Everything Is New including the singles "Tonight's Today" and "Be the One".


Paul Epworth worked further with Friendly Fires on a single version of the track "Skeleton Boy" and produced the forthcoming single by The Big Pink, "Stop the World".


In Spring 2009, Paul Epworth co-produced another single with The Big Pink entitled "Dominos", and a new Friendly Fires single "Kiss of Life".


In February 2010, Paul Epworth won both the Brit Award and the Music Producers' Guild Award for Producer Of The Year and won Music Week's Producer of the Year Award in April.


Early 2010 saw Paul Epworth deliver tracks for London band Chapel Club's forthcoming LP and begin work on both Friendly Fires' and Florence and the Machine's second LPs.


Paul Epworth signed a solo deal with Columbia Records, with no album forthcoming until 2019.


Paul Epworth added his production hand to Primary 1's album, including lead single "Princess".


Summer 2011 saw Paul Epworth producing The Big Pink's Future This and the critically acclaimed Ceremonials by Florence and the Machine.


Later that year, Paul Epworth founded the independent record label Wolf Tone.


In 2016, Paul Epworth produced two tracks for The Stone Roses, "All for One" and "Beautiful Thing", which he mixed.


Paul Epworth served as executive producer on the Glass Animals album How to Be a Human Being, which was released by Wolf Tone.


Paul Epworth co-wrote and produced the Usher track "Chains" featuring Nas and Bibi Bourelly.


In September 2020, Paul Epworth released his debut studio album Voyager.


In October 2013, Paul Epworth bought The Church Studios, a recording studio in the Crouch End area of London.


David Gray then owned the studio until Paul Epworth took over in 2013.


Paul Epworth had a 72-Channel Vintage EMI Neve Console installed in studio 1, and a Solid State Logic console installed in studio 2.