10 Facts About South London


South London is the southern part of London, England, south of the River Thames.

FactSnippet No. 936,820

South London originally emerged from Southwark, first recorded as Suthriganaweorc, meaning 'fort of the men of Surrey'.

FactSnippet No. 936,821

From Southwark, London then extended further down into northern Surrey and western Kent.

FactSnippet No. 936,822

South London began at Southwark at the southern end of London Bridge, the first permanent crossing over the river, with early development of the area being a direct result of the existence and location of the bridge.

FactSnippet No. 936,823

South London contains an extensive overground rail network and all of London's trams operate within the area.

FactSnippet No. 936,824

The south London sub-region included the 11 boroughs which lay south of the river, plus the parts of cross-river Richmond upon Thames that did so.

FactSnippet No. 936,825

Purposes of progress reporting on the London Plan, there was a south London sub-region in operation from 2004 to 2008 consisting of Bromley, Croydon, Kingston, Merton, Richmond and Sutton.

FactSnippet No. 936,826

In 2011 a new south London region was created consisting of Bromley, Croydon, the Royal Borough of Kingston upon Thames, Richmond upon Thames, Merton, Sutton, Wandsworth, Bexley, Greenwich and Lewisham.

FactSnippet No. 936,827

South London is, like other parts of London and the UK in general, a temperate maritime climate according to the Koppen climate classification system.

FactSnippet No. 936,828

Temperatures increase towards the Thames, firstly because of the urban warming effect of the surrounding area, but secondly due to altitude decreasing towards the river, meaning the southern margins of south London are often a couple of degrees cooler than those areas adjacent to the Thames.

FactSnippet No. 936,829