12 Facts About Taoiseach


Taoiseach is the prime minister and head of government of Ireland.

FactSnippet No. 747,070

Current Taoiseach is Micheal Martin TD, leader of Fianna Fail, who took office on 27 June 2020 following a coalition agreement between Fianna Fail, Fine Gael, and the Green Party.

FactSnippet No. 747,071

Under the Constitution of Ireland, the Taoiseach is nominated by a simple majority of the voting members of Dail Eireann.

FactSnippet No. 747,072

The Taoiseach is authorised to advise the President to dismiss cabinet ministers from office; by convention the President follows this advice.

FactSnippet No. 747,073

The Taoiseach is further responsible for appointing eleven members of the Seanad.

FactSnippet No. 747,074

Related searches

Ireland Fine Gael Green

Department of the Taoiseach is the government department which supports and advises the Taoiseach in carrying out their various duties.

FactSnippet No. 747,075

The Taoiseach is assisted by one or more Ministers of State at the Department of the Taoiseach, one of whom is the Government Chief Whip.

FactSnippet No. 747,076

Taoiseach said he was "not disposed" to support the proposed amendment and felt the word "Taoiseach" did not need to be changed.

FactSnippet No. 747,077

The proposed amendment was defeated on a vote and "Taoiseach" was included as the title ultimately adopted by plebiscite of the people.

FactSnippet No. 747,078

In contrast, the Taoiseach created in 1937 possesses a much more powerful role.

FactSnippet No. 747,079

Taoiseach's role is greatly enhanced because under the Constitution, he is both and chief executive.

FactSnippet No. 747,080

Generally, where there have been multi-party or coalition governments, the Taoiseach has been the leader of the largest party in the coalition.

FactSnippet No. 747,081