21 Facts About Thrissur


Thrissur, formerly Trichur, known by its historical name Thrissivaperur, is a city and the headquarters of the Thrissur district in Kerala, India.

FactSnippet No. 1,310,299

Thrissur was once the capital of the Kingdom of Cochin, and was a point of contact for the Assyrians, Greeks, Persians, Arabs, Romans, Portuguese, Dutch and English.

FactSnippet No. 1,310,300

Thrissur is known as the Cultural Capital of Kerala because of its cultural, spiritual and religious leanings throughout history.

FactSnippet No. 1,310,301

Thrissur has a large number of well-known temples including the Vadakkumnathan temple, Thiruvambadi Sri Krishna Temple, and Paramekkavu temple.

FactSnippet No. 1,310,302

Name Thrissur is a shortened form of the Malayalam word Thirusshivaperoor .

FactSnippet No. 1,310,303

Thrissur was known by its anglicised name Trichur until 1990, when the government decided to replace it with its Malayalam name.

FactSnippet No. 1,310,304

Thrissur rose to importance after Maharaja Sakthan Thampuran ascended the throne of Kingdom of Cochin and made Thrissur his capital.

FactSnippet No. 1,310,305

Thrissur district was formed on 1 July 1949, with the headquarters at the city of Thrissur.

FactSnippet No. 1,310,306

Thrissur is the headquarters of Thrissur district, in the centre of the Indian state of Kerala.

FactSnippet No. 1,310,307

Thrissur is home to many Malayaliee entrepreneurs, and is a major financial and commercial hub of Kerala.

FactSnippet No. 1,310,308

Soon, Thrissur became a flourishing centre of internal trade in Kerala.

FactSnippet No. 1,310,309

Thrissur has functioned as a municipality since 1921 under the Cochin Municipal Regulations.

FactSnippet No. 1,310,310

Thrissur has played a significant part in the political history of South India.

FactSnippet No. 1,310,311

The city of Thrissur is represented in the Kerala State Assembly by two elected members, one from Thrissur Assembly Constituency and another from Ollur Assembly Constituency.

FactSnippet No. 1,310,312

Thrissur city is a part of the Thrissur Lok Sabha constituency and elects a member to the Lok Sabha, the lower house of the Parliament of India, once every five years.

FactSnippet No. 1,310,313

Thrissur is known as the Cultural Capital of Kerala, the city enjoys a thriving cultural tradition dating back to centuries.

FactSnippet No. 1,310,314

Cuisine of Thrissur is linked to its history, geography, demography and culture.

FactSnippet No. 1,310,315

Thrissur, which has been a centre of learning from ancient times, is developing as a modern education hub.

FactSnippet No. 1,310,316

Thrissur has contributed many national and international bodybuilding stars to India such as TV Poly and VM Basheer.

FactSnippet No. 1,310,317

Major Malayalam newspapers published in Thrissur include Malayala Manorama, Mathrubhumi, Madhyamam, Deepika, Kerala Kaumudi, Deshabhimani, Mangalam, Veekshanam, Metro Vaartha and Janayugom.

FactSnippet No. 1,310,318

Thrissur has a Doordarshan studio with a low power transmitter located near the studio.

FactSnippet No. 1,310,319