10 Facts About University College Dublin


University College Dublin is a public research university in Dublin, Ireland, and a member institution of the National University of Ireland.

FactSnippet No. 1,258,693

The Catholic University College Dublin opened its doors on the feast of St Malachy, 3 November 1854.

FactSnippet No. 1,258,694

In 1882, Catholic University reorganised, and the St Stephen's Green institution run by the Irish Jesuits, was renamed University College, and it began participating in the Royal University system.

FactSnippet No. 1,258,695

Under the Universities Act, 1997, University College Dublin was established as a constituent university within the National University of Ireland framework.

FactSnippet No. 1,258,696

In 1926, the University Education Act transferred the Royal College of Science in Merrion Street and Albert Agricultural College in Glasnevin to UCD.

FactSnippet No. 1,258,697

University College Dublin had a site in Glasnevin for much of the last century, the Albert Agricultural College, the southern part of which is occupied by Dublin City University, the northern part is where Ballymun town is located.

FactSnippet No. 1,258,698

UCD has hosted the World University College Dublin Debating Championships twice, most recently in 2006.

FactSnippet No. 1,258,699

University College Dublin Observer won the Newspaper of the Year award at the National Student Media Awards in April 2006, an accolade it has achieved many times, most recently in April 2014.

FactSnippet No. 1,258,700

The University College Dublin Observer is funded by the UCD Students' Union, but its content, in theory, remains editorially independent.

FactSnippet No. 1,258,701

University College Dublin Tribune was founded in 1989, with the assistance of noted political commentator Vincent Browne.

FactSnippet No. 1,258,702