13 Facts About Apennines


Apennines conserve some intact ecosystems that have survived human intervention.

FactSnippet No. 1,357,627

Apennines are divided into three sectors: northern, central, and .

FactSnippet No. 1,357,628

Northern Apennines consist of three subchains: the Ligurian, Tuscan-Emilian, and Umbrian Apennines .

FactSnippet No. 1,357,629

Southeastern border of the Ligurian Apennines is the Fiume Magra, which projects into the Tyrrhenian Sea south of La Spezia, and the Fiume Taro, which runs in the opposite direction to join the Po.

FactSnippet No. 1,357,630

Whether they are to be considered part of the Apennines is a matter of opinion; certainly, they are part of the Apennine System.

FactSnippet No. 1,357,631

The southern limit of the Tuscan–Romagnol Apennines is the Bocca Serriola Pass in northern Umbria, which links Fano and Citta di Castello.

FactSnippet No. 1,357,632

Abruzzi Apennines, located in Abruzzo, Molise and southeastern Lazio, contain the highest peaks and most rugged terrain of the Apennines.

FactSnippet No. 1,357,633

Central Apennines are crossed by the railway from Rome to Pescara via Avezzano and Sulmona: the railway from Orte to Terni follows the Nera valley; while from Terni a line ascends to the plain of Rieti, and thence crosses the central chain to Aquila, whence it follows the valley of the Aterno to Sulmona.

FactSnippet No. 1,357,634

Apennines were created in the Apennine orogeny beginning in the early Neogene and continuing today.

FactSnippet No. 1,357,635

The Apennines are much younger, extend from northwest to southeast, and are not a displacement of the Alpine chain.

FactSnippet No. 1,357,636

The Alps and the Apennines were always separated by this trench and were never part of the same system.

FactSnippet No. 1,357,637

Terrain of the Apennines is to a large degree unstable due to various types of landslides, including falls and slides of rocks and debris, flows of earth and mud, and sink holes.

FactSnippet No. 1,357,638

The Apennines are slumping away to the northeast into the Po Valley and the Adriatic foredeep; that is, the zone where the Adriatic floor is being subducted under Italy.

FactSnippet No. 1,357,639