10 Facts About Appenzell Ausserrhoden


Appenzell Ausserrhoden is one of the 26 cantons forming the Swiss Confederation.

FactSnippet No. 1,362,776

Appenzell Ausserrhoden was part of the historical canton of Appenzell, which was divided into Appenzell Innerrhoden and Appenzell Ausserrhoden in 1597 as a result of the Swiss Reformation.

FactSnippet No. 1,362,777

Settlement in Appenzell Ausserrhoden started in the 7th and the 8th century alongside the river Glatt.

FactSnippet No. 1,362,778

In 1377 Appenzell Ausserrhoden was allowed to join the League with the support of the cities of Konstanz and St Gallen .

FactSnippet No. 1,362,779

Appenzell Ausserrhoden declared itself ready to stand against the abbot, and in 1403 formed an alliance with the canton of Schwyz, a member of the Old Swiss Confederation that had defeated the Austrians in the previous century.

FactSnippet No. 1,362,780

In 1411 Appenzell Ausserrhoden signed a defensive treaty with the entire Swiss Confederation, which strengthened their position against the abbot.

FactSnippet No. 1,362,781

Appenzell Ausserrhoden joined the Confederation as an "Associate Member", and did not become a full member until 1513.

FactSnippet No. 1,362,782

Appenzell Ausserrhoden's preaching brought the Reformation into the forefront of public debate.

FactSnippet No. 1,362,783

Two small monasteries in Appenzell Ausserrhoden remained catholic though the towns around them adopted the new faith.

FactSnippet No. 1,362,784

Usually die beiden Appenzell are spoken of in a political context, and Appenzellerland in a geographic context, if the aim is to refer to Innerrhoden and Ausserrhoden collectively.

FactSnippet No. 1,362,785