11 Facts About Arakan


Arakan is a historic coastal region in Southeast Asia.

FactSnippet No. 1,964,717

Arakan became one of the earliest regions in Southeast Asia to embrace Dharmic religions, particularly Buddhism and Hinduism.

FactSnippet No. 1,964,718

Arakan steadily declined from the 18th century onwards after its loss to the Mughal Empire.

FactSnippet No. 1,964,719

Arakan came under strong Indic influence from the Indian subcontinent, particularly the ancient kingdoms of the Ganges delta.

FactSnippet No. 1,964,720

Arakan was one of the first regions in Southeast Asia to adopt Dharmic religions.

FactSnippet No. 1,964,721

Arakan suffered a major defeat to the forces of Mughal Bengal during the Battle of Chittagong in 1666, when Mrauk U lost control of southeast Bengal.

FactSnippet No. 1,964,722

In 1937, Arakan became part of Burma Province, which was separated from India into a distinct crown colony.

FactSnippet No. 1,964,723

Arakan became one of the Union of Burma's divisions after independence from British rule.

FactSnippet No. 1,964,724

The northern part of Arakan was governed by the central government in Rangoon in the early 1960s.

FactSnippet No. 1,964,725

The Arakan region is about 400 miles long from north to south and is about 90 miles wide at its broadest.

FactSnippet No. 1,964,726

Arakan Division had the largest percentage of Indians in British Burma.

FactSnippet No. 1,964,727