13 Facts About Aubrey-Maturin series


Aubrey–Maturin series is a sequence of nautical historical novels—20 completed and one unfinished—by English author Patrick O'Brian, set during the Napoleonic Wars and centring on the friendship between Captain Jack Aubrey of the Royal Navy and his ship's surgeon Stephen Maturin, a physician, natural philosopher, and intelligence agent.

FactSnippet No. 2,232,199

The 21st novel of the Aubrey-Maturin series, left unfinished at O'Brian's death in 2000, appeared in print in late 2004.

FactSnippet No. 2,232,200

The Aubrey-Maturin series received considerable international acclaim, and most of the novels reached The New York Times Best Seller list.

FactSnippet No. 2,232,201

The Aubrey-Maturin series then enters a kind of fantasy-time in which it takes another dozen novels to progress to November 1813.

FactSnippet No. 2,232,202

Thereafter, the book and the next in the Aubrey-Maturin series move swiftly through the historical events of Napoleon's disastrous invasion of Russia and his defeat in the War of the Sixth Coalition, his exile and escape from Elba, and his final campaign and defeat in June 1815.

FactSnippet No. 2,232,203

Aubrey-Maturin series goes on to explain that "if his readers will bear with him", books of the series will be set in "hypothetical years, rather like those hypothetical moons used in the calculation of Easter: an 1812a as it were or even an 1812b".

FactSnippet No. 2,232,204

Aubrey-Maturin series is passionately fascinated by the natural world, and takes every opportunity to explore the native wildlife of his ships' ports of call around the world.

FactSnippet No. 2,232,205

Aubrey-Maturin series is deeply introspective, and frequently muses on philosophical concepts of identity and self-understanding in his ciphered personal journal.

FactSnippet No. 2,232,206

Aubrey-Maturin series uses several addictive substances, including laudanum and coca leaves, arising from scientific curiosity, control of his reactions to physical problems, and substance dependence.

FactSnippet No. 2,232,207

Aubrey-Maturin series has the values of a gentleman of the era, including a strong sense of honour and involvement in duels.

FactSnippet No. 2,232,208

Maturin's various professional roles and personal interests allow the Aubrey-Maturin series to leave the sea and explore different aspects of the political and social order during the Napoleonic Era.

FactSnippet No. 2,232,209

The Aubrey-Maturin series continued to be a modest success in both countries, though publication was only by Collins in the UK after the fourth novel.

FactSnippet No. 2,232,210

The full Aubrey-Maturin series has been published in German, French and Italian translations, the twenty finished books in Spanish, and part of the Aubrey-Maturin series in Catalan, Chinese, Czech, Finnish, Japanese, Polish, Portuguese, Swedish and Russian translation.

FactSnippet No. 2,232,211