18 Facts About Auckland isthmus


Auckland isthmus, known as the Tamaki isthmus, is a narrow stretch of land on the North Island of New Zealand in the Auckland Region, and the location of the central suburbs of the city of Auckland, including the CBD.

FactSnippet No. 2,095,224

The Auckland isthmus is the most southern section of the Northland Peninsula.

FactSnippet No. 2,095,225

Auckland isthmus is bound on the eastern side by the Tamaki River and by the Whau River on the west; two tidal estuaries of the Waitemata Harbour.

FactSnippet No. 2,095,226

The largest remaining area of native bush on the Auckland isthmus is the Kepa Bush Reserve at the edge of the Purewa Creek in southern Mission Bay, where kohekohe trees dominate the old growth sections of the reserve.

FactSnippet No. 2,095,227

The western side of the isthmus serves as a border between the Western Northland and Hauraki-Auckland bioregions for land snails.

FactSnippet No. 2,095,228

Auckland isthmus was an early location visited by many of the Maori migration canoes, including the Matahourua, Aotea, Mataatua, Tainui, Takitimu, Tokomaru, Te Wakatuwhenua and Moekakara waka.

FactSnippet No. 2,095,229

Tamaki Maori found the Auckland isthmus to be an important strategic location, due to the fertile soils and rich resources from the two harbours that bound the Auckland isthmus.

FactSnippet No. 2,095,230

Larger areas of Auckland isthmus were able to be developed after the creation of Great North Road and Great South Road, the latter of which was created during the 1860s to facilitate troop movements during the Invasion of the Waikato.

FactSnippet No. 2,095,231

The Western Line, a section of the North Auckland isthmus Line, was opened on 29 March 1880 connecting Newmarket to Glen Eden, and extended as far north as Helensville by the following year.

FactSnippet No. 2,095,232

In 1911, Auckland isthmus became the industrial hub of the country, and by 1921 the Port of Auckland isthmus was the busiest in New Zealand.

FactSnippet No. 2,095,233

The first section that opened was the Northwestern Motorway in 1952, connecting Westerview to the Te Atatu Peninsula in West Auckland isthmus, to create a dedicated corridor to reach the civilian airport at Whenuapai.

FactSnippet No. 2,095,234

The new car-centric model for the isthmus and greater Auckland led to the removal of the Auckland tram lines, which were replaced with trolleybuses, and ultimately by bus routes.

FactSnippet No. 2,095,235

Glen Innes, one of the final farmland areas on the Auckland isthmus, was developed as a social housing area by local government in the 1950s.

FactSnippet No. 2,095,236

Between 1983 and 1987, overseas investments led to an office building boom in the Auckland isthmus CBD, making the Auckland isthmus CBD the financial capital of New Zealand.

FactSnippet No. 2,095,237

From 1904, a stronger focus on amalgamating surrounding areas called the Greater Auckland isthmus scheme was undertaken, inspired by similar movements in Wellington and Christchurch.

FactSnippet No. 2,095,238

On 1 November 2010, the Auckland isthmus City was merged with the surrounding metropolitan and rural areas to form a single Auckland isthmus Council unitary authority.

FactSnippet No. 2,095,239

Since the formation of the council, the Auckland isthmus has been divided into five wards: the Waitemata and Gulf ward, Albert-Eden-Puketapapa ward, Maungakiekie-Tamaki ward, Orakei ward and Whau ward.

FactSnippet No. 2,095,240

Power consumers within the Auckland isthmus network are able to vote for the trustees of Entrust, an electricity consumers trust and the majority shareholder of the electricity company Vector Limited, while receiving annual dividends.

FactSnippet No. 2,095,241