10 Facts About Auto Union


Auto Union AG, was an amalgamation of four German automobile manufacturers, founded in 1932 and established in 1936 in Chemnitz, Saxony.

FactSnippet No. 871,092

Auto Union racing cars types A to D were built as Grand Prix racing cars from 1934 to 1939.

FactSnippet No. 871,093

Auto Union was crowned European Champion, and took the European Mountain Championship.

FactSnippet No. 871,094

Auto Union became an important supplier of vehicles to Germany's armed forces.

FactSnippet No. 871,095

Production of Junkers aircraft engine under license, Auto Union founded in 1935 the subsidiary "Mitteldeutsche Motorenwerke" at Taucha, northeast of Leipzig.

FactSnippet No. 871,096

Postwar, the Saxon plants of Auto Union were located in the Soviet-occupied zone of communist East Germany.

FactSnippet No. 871,097

Auto Union therefore continued DKW's tradition of producing affordable front-wheel drive vehicles with two-stroke engines.

FactSnippet No. 871,098

In 1969, Auto Union merged with NSU Motorenwerke AG, based in Neckarsulm, near Stuttgart.

FactSnippet No. 871,099

Rumors began to appear in the press the name Auto Union would be revived for the new group holding company.

FactSnippet No. 871,100

Auto Union was tributed at the 1999 Monterey Historic Automobile Races.

FactSnippet No. 871,101