15 Facts About Barbara Liskov


Barbara Liskov is one of the earliest women to have been granted a doctorate in computer science in the United States.

FactSnippet No. 690,070

Barbara Liskov's is currently an Institute Professor and Ford Professor of Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

FactSnippet No. 690,071

Barbara Liskov's earned her BA in mathematics with a minor in physics at the University of California, Berkeley in 1961.

FactSnippet No. 690,072

Barbara Liskov's was accepted at Berkeley but instead of studying she moved to Boston and began working at Mitre Corporation.

FactSnippet No. 690,073

Barbara Liskov's worked at Mitre for one year before taking a programming job at Harvard where she worked on language translation.

FactSnippet No. 690,074

Barbara Liskov's then decided to go back to school and applied again to Berkeley, but to Stanford and Harvard.

FactSnippet No. 690,075

Barbara Liskov has led many significant projects, including the Venus operating system, a small, low-cost timesharing system; the design and implementation of CLU; Argus, the first high-level language to support implementation of distributed programs and to demonstrate the technique of promise pipelining; and Thor, an object-oriented database system.

FactSnippet No. 690,076

Barbara Liskov's leads the Programming Methodology Group at MIT, with a current research focus in Byzantine fault tolerance and distributed computing.

FactSnippet No. 690,077

Barbara Liskov's was on the inaugural Engineering and Computer Science jury for the Infosys Prize in 2009.

FactSnippet No. 690,078

Barbara Liskov is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, the National Academy of Sciences and a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and of the Association for Computing Machinery .

FactSnippet No. 690,079

In 2004, Barbara Liskov won the John von Neumann Medal for "fundamental contributions to programming languages, programming methodology, and distributed systems".

FactSnippet No. 690,080

Barbara Liskov's was awarded a Doctorate Honoris Causa by the University of Lugano in 2011 and by Universidad Politecnica de Madrid in 2018.

FactSnippet No. 690,081

Barbara Liskov received the 2008 Turing Award from the ACM in March 2009, for her work in the design of programming languages and software methodology that led to the development of object-oriented programming.

FactSnippet No. 690,082

Specifically, Barbara Liskov developed two programming languages, CLU in the 1970s and Argus in the 1980s.

FactSnippet No. 690,083

Barbara Liskov is the author of four books and over one hundred technical papers.

FactSnippet No. 690,084