10 Facts About Bayer Leverkusen


Bayer 04 Leverkusen Fußball GmbH, known as Bayer 04 Leverkusen, Bayer Leverkusen, or simply Leverkusen, is a professional football club based in Leverkusen in the state of North Rhine-Westphalia.

FactSnippet No. 2,210,621

Bayer Leverkusen have finished as runner-up in the Bundesliga five times without winning the competition, a record in German football.

FactSnippet No. 2,210,622

Bayer Leverkusen agreed to support the initiative, and on 1 July 1904 Turn- und Spielverein Bayer 04 Leverkusen was founded.

FactSnippet No. 2,210,623

Bayer Leverkusen was the first team to reach the final of the Champions League without ever having won a national championship.

FactSnippet No. 2,210,624

Bayer Leverkusen then led Bayer Leverkusen to a third-place finish and a Champions League place the following year.

FactSnippet No. 2,210,625

Bayer Leverkusen was defeated in the first knockout round by eventual champions Liverpool.

FactSnippet No. 2,210,626

Bayer Leverkusen finished the season in ninth place in the Bundesliga table and Labbadia moved to Hamburger SV in June 2009.

FactSnippet No. 2,210,627

Shortly thereafter, Leverkusen presented Jupp Heynckes as its new manager, who had previously managed Bayern Munich after Jurgen Klinsmann's departure.

FactSnippet No. 2,210,628

Ironically, Bayer 04 was the first Bundesliga club whose fans identified themselves as Ultras and the city of Leverkusen is one of the old industrial cities of Germany.

FactSnippet No. 2,210,629

Bayer Leverkusen is perceived by some to have an ongoing image problem of a different sort.

FactSnippet No. 2,210,630