27 Facts About Devi


Devi is the Sanskrit word for 'goddess'; the masculine form is deva.

FactSnippet No. 771,567

Devi appears in late Vedic texts dated to be pre-Buddhist, but verses dedicated to her do not suggest that her characteristics were fully developed in the Vedic era.

FactSnippet No. 771,568

Devi is the supreme being in the Shakta tradition of Hinduism; in the Smarta tradition, she is one of the five primary forms of Brahman that is revered.

FactSnippet No. 771,569

Devi-inspired philosophy is propounded in many Hindu texts such as the Devi Upanishad, which teaches that Shakti is essentially Brahman and that from her arises prakrti and purusha and that she is bliss and non-bliss, the Vedas and what is different from it, the born and the unborn and all of the universe.

FactSnippet No. 771,570

Devi's is mentioned as the creative power of Shiva in Tripura Upanishad, Bahvricha Upanishad and Guhyakali Upanishad.

FactSnippet No. 771,571

Devi identifies herself in the Devi Upanishad as Brahman in her reply to the gods stating that she rules the world, blesses devotees with riches, that she is the supreme deity to whom all worship is to be offered and that she infuses Atman in every soul.

FactSnippet No. 771,572

Devi asserts that she is creator of earth and heaven and resides there.

FactSnippet No. 771,573

Devi's is, states Devi, the eternal and infinite consciousness engulfing earth and heaven, and 'all forms of bliss and non-bliss, knowledge and ignorance, Brahman and Non-Brahman'.

FactSnippet No. 771,574

Devi's is the mother goddess in Hinduism and has many attributes and aspects.

FactSnippet No. 771,575

Devi is portrayed as the ideal wife, mother, and householder in Indian legends.

FactSnippet No. 771,576

Devi's is part of Tridevi which consists of Lakshmi, Parvati, and Saraswati .

FactSnippet No. 771,577

Devi's is revered in other non-Hindu cultures of Asia, such as in Tibet.

FactSnippet No. 771,578

Devi's has remained significant as a goddess from the Vedic age through modern times of Hindu traditions.

FactSnippet No. 771,579

Devi's is part of Tridevi which consists of Saraswati, Parvati, and Lakshmi .

FactSnippet No. 771,580

Devi's is generally shown to have four arms, but sometimes just two.

FactSnippet No. 771,581

Devi's is black, wears a garland of human heads, is clothed in a tiger skin, rides a tiger, and wields a staff topped by a human skull.

FactSnippet No. 771,582

Devi's holds both the creative and destructive power of time.

FactSnippet No. 771,583

Devi's is the power that supports the earth, with all its seas, islands, forests, deserts and mountains, asserts Yoga Vasistha.

FactSnippet No. 771,584

Devi's is not to be confused with the Kali Yuga, which is spelled similarly yet holds a different meaning.

FactSnippet No. 771,585

Devi's is shakti or prakriti of Rama as told in the Ram Raksha Stotram.

FactSnippet No. 771,586

Devi's is extolled as one of the Panchakanya for her virtuous qualities; taking their names destroys all sins.

FactSnippet No. 771,587

Devi's is referred to golden goddess, wherein after Rama is bereaved of her, he refuses to marry again, insists that he is married solely and forever to her, and uses a golden image of Sita as a substitute in the performance of his duties as a king.

FactSnippet No. 771,588

Sita, in many Hindu mythology, is the Devi associated with agriculture, fertility, food and wealth for continuation of humanity.

FactSnippet No. 771,589

Devi's has figured prominently in the poems of Vidyapati as a cosmic queen and later became inspiration behind many forms of art, literature, music and dance.

FactSnippet No. 771,590

Devi's is revered as the queen of Barsana, Vrindavan and her spiritual abode Goloka.

FactSnippet No. 771,591

Devi's focuses on that side of her that suits her objectives, but unlike male Hindu deities, her powers and knowledge work in concert in a multifunctional manner.

FactSnippet No. 771,592

Devi Puja is the worship of Parvati which is observed through four forms of Devi Yantra; the first is Tara that exists in the realm of the fourth chakra representing the spiritual heart; Saraswati emanates in the first chakra; Lakshmi forms the second chakra; and Parvati is at the heart of the third chakra and completes the chakra.

FactSnippet No. 771,593