32 Facts About FC Porto


Futebol Clube do Porto, MHIH, OM, commonly known as FC Porto or simply Porto, is a Portuguese professional sports club based in Porto.

FactSnippet No. 706,965

Since 2003, FC Porto have played their home matches at the Estadio do Dragao, which replaced the previous 51-year-old ground, the Estadio das Antas.

FactSnippet No. 706,966

FC Porto is the second most decorated team in Portugal, with 82 major trophies, of which 75 were achieved in domestic competitions.

FactSnippet No. 706,967

In international competitions, FC Porto is the most decorated Portuguese team, with seven trophies.

FactSnippet No. 706,968

FC Porto have the third-most appearances in the UEFA Champions League group stage, behind Barcelona and Real Madrid .

FactSnippet No. 706,969

FC Porto played its first matches with other Portuguese clubs, including one against Lisbon's Foot-Ball Club Lisbonense on 2 March 1894.

FactSnippet No. 706,970

On 2 August 1906, FC Porto was revived and Monteiro da Costa appointed its president.

FactSnippet No. 706,971

Shortly after, FC Porto rented its first ground and recruited a French coach named Adolphe Cassaigne, who would stay in the club until 1925.

FactSnippet No. 706,972

On 15 December 1907, FC Porto played its first match against a foreign team, hosting Spain's Real Fortuna.

FactSnippet No. 706,973

In 1912, FC Porto joined efforts with Leixoes to establish the FC Porto Football Association, which began organising the regional championship in the following year.

FactSnippet No. 706,974

FC Porto finished the first season as runners-up, behind local rivals Boavista, but in the following season the club won its first championship.

FactSnippet No. 706,975

FC Porto won the inaugural edition of the new league championship and successfully defended the title in the next season, despite almost failing to take part.

FactSnippet No. 706,976

Later that season, FC Porto beat Torreense to win its first Taca de Portugal and achieved its first double.

FactSnippet No. 706,977

In 1958, Bela Guttmann took charge as coach of FC Porto and helped them overhaul a five-point lead enjoyed by Benfica to win the Portuguese League title in 1959.

FactSnippet No. 706,978

The following month, FC Porto presented Peruvian international Teofilo Cubillas, who became one of the club's most successful players, scoring 65 goals in 108 games.

FactSnippet No. 706,979

In December 1981, FC Porto overcame Benfica to win the inaugural staging of the Portuguese Super Cup, the Supertaca Candido de Oliveira.

FactSnippet No. 706,980

The previous month, FC Porto fell again in the Cup Winners' Cup quarter-finals against one of the eventual finalists, but needed only two years to finally reach the competition's final.

FactSnippet No. 706,981

Already without Pedroto, who stepped down due to illness, FC Porto won that season's Taca and Supertaca but lost the championship to Benfica.

FactSnippet No. 706,982

Under his command, FC Porto made history by winning a third consecutive league title for the first time, leaving the runners-up at a distance of 13 points.

FactSnippet No. 706,983

In Oliveira's second and last season at the club, FC Porto won the Primeira Divisao for the fourth straight season, matching Sporting CP's achievement in the early 1950s, and secured its third double after beating Braga in the 1998 Taca de Portugal Final.

FactSnippet No. 706,984

FC Porto accomplished this feat, becoming thereafter known as the "Penta engineer", and saw Jardel's 36 goals win him the European Golden Shoe.

FactSnippet No. 706,985

Two days later, FC Porto signed Uniao de Leiria's coach, Jose Mourinho, who had previously worked for the club alongside Robson.

FactSnippet No. 706,986

FC Porto kept true to his promise and delivered one of the club's most successful seasons.

FactSnippet No. 706,987

Mourinho then secured an unprecedented treble for FC Porto by winning the Taca de Portugal final against his previous club.

FactSnippet No. 706,988

FC Porto finished second in its group, losing only once to Real Madrid, and advanced to the round-of-16 where they met Manchester United.

FactSnippet No. 706,989

Eight years after the 2003 triumph, FC Porto returned to the UEFA Cup and reached the final in Dublin's Aviva Stadium.

FactSnippet No. 706,990

However, despite their national success, FC Porto did not reach the group phase of the Champions League and did poorly in their Europa League campaign.

FactSnippet No. 706,991

Eight years later, FC Porto became the first Portuguese team to have a shirt sponsor, after signing a deal with Revigres worth 10 million escudos per year.

FactSnippet No. 706,992

On several occasions, between the 1920s and 1940s, FC Porto played host to matches at the Campo do Ameal or the Estadio do Lima, home of local rivals Sport Progresso and Academico, respectively.

FactSnippet No. 706,993

FC Porto Museum was inaugurated on 28 September 2013, on occasion of the club's 120th anniversary.

FactSnippet No. 706,994

FCFC Porto SAD is listed in the Euronext Lisbon stock exchange.

FactSnippet No. 706,995

FC Porto Canal is a television channel owned and operated by FC Porto, which broadcasts generalist, regional, and club-related content through cable, satellite and IPTV.

FactSnippet No. 706,996