22 Facts About IndyCar Series


IndyCar Series, currently known as the NTT IndyCar Series under sponsorship, is the highest class of regional North American open-wheel single-seater formula racing cars in the United States, which has been conducted under the auspices of various sanctioning bodies since 1920 after two initial attempts in 1905 and 1916.

FactSnippet No. 541,841

In 2008, the IndyCar Series merged with CART's successor, the Champ Car World Series and the history and statistics of both series, as well as those from its predecessors, were unified.

FactSnippet No. 541,842

IndyCar Series name was officially adopted beginning in 2003, as the series was now legally entitled to use it due to the expiration of a 1996 legal settlement with CART.

FactSnippet No. 541,843

IndyCar Series allows manufacturers to develop different types of engines, while every team uses the same chassis.

FactSnippet No. 541,844

In 2010, IndyCar Series announced that it would officially adopt a single-make chassis formula, beginning in 2012 among a selection of proposals from interested parties, and set up the ICONIC Advisory Committee to make a final recommendation.

FactSnippet No. 541,845

On July 2010, IndyCar announced that Dallara had won the contract to remain as the series' single chassis supplier.

FactSnippet No. 541,846

IndyCar Series had hoped to set a new speed record at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway by 2016 with the introduction of aero kits and the development work associated with them.

FactSnippet No. 541,847

From 1996 to 2007, all IndyCar Series cars used a hand-shifted 6-speed sequential manual transmission with a shift stick lever, supplied by Xtrac since 2000 season until 2007.

FactSnippet No. 541,848

Suspension of all IndyCar Series cars is double A-arm, pushrod, with third spring and anti-roll bar configuration multilink.

FactSnippet No. 541,849

Cockpits of all IndyCar Series cars are still open but protected by zylon, a foot protection bulkhead, and cockpit padding.

FactSnippet No. 541,850

Rearview mirrors for all IndyCar Series cars are fully mandated to easily enable viewing opponents behind.

FactSnippet No. 541,851

Fuel cell for all current IndyCar Series cars are made of rubber and are covered with a Kevlar-fitted blanket for extra protection in side impacts.

FactSnippet No. 541,852

The IndyCar Series carried on with only one engine manufacturer in spite of the television agreement required at least two or three engine manufacturers to participate in the series to ensure future continuity.

FactSnippet No. 541,853

IndyCar Series engines were rev-limited to 10, 300 rpm and produce approximately 650 hp.

FactSnippet No. 541,854

Ultimately Porsche backed out when IndyCar Series refused to allow them to field a hybrid powertrain.

FactSnippet No. 541,855

Coincidentally, IndyCar Series announced its plans for a hybrid powertrain one month later.

FactSnippet No. 541,856

In 2019, an IndyCar Series race was held for the first time on a current Formula 1 racetrack, the "Indycar Classics" at the Circuit of the Americas in Austin, Texas.

FactSnippet No. 541,857

IndyCar Series will apply the same system to other ties in the rankings at the close of the season and at any other time during the season.

FactSnippet No. 541,858

Previous to August 2013, the IndyCar Series races were broadcasts on the Sky Sports family of networks, with the viewing figures of the IndyCar races in the UK outnumbering those of NASCAR races.

FactSnippet No. 541,859

The IndyCar Series had highlights of all the races on the channel Five British terrestrial channel and Five USA, but has since been discontinued since the 2009 season.

FactSnippet No. 541,860

In February 2013, Sportsnet announced that it would become the official Canadian broadcaster of the IndyCar Series beginning in the 2013 season in a five-year deal with the series.

FactSnippet No. 541,861

In 2022, IndyCar Series launched its streaming service to viewers in certain international territories without local broadcast partner.

FactSnippet No. 541,862