11 Facts About Khabarovsk Krai


Khabarovsk Krai is bordered by Magadan Oblast to the north, Amur Oblast, Jewish Autonomous Oblast and the Sakha Republic to the west, Primorsky Krai to the south, and Sakhalin Oblast to the east.

FactSnippet No. 604,509

Khabarovsk Krai has a severely continental climate with its northern areas being subarctic with stronger maritime summer moderation in the north.

FactSnippet No. 604,510

Main islands of Khabarovsk Krai are Malminskiye Island, the Shantar Islands, Menshikov Island, Reyneke Island (Sea of Okhotsk), Chkalov Island, Baydukov Island and the Chastye Islands.

FactSnippet No. 604,511

Khabarovsk Krai was established on 20 October 1938, when the Far Eastern Krai was split into the Khabarovsk and Primorsky Krais.

FactSnippet No. 604,512

In 1947, the northern part of Sakhalin was removed from the Khabarovsk Krai to join the southern part and form Sakhalin oblast.

FactSnippet No. 604,513

In 1953, Magadan Oblast was established from the northern parts of the Khabarovsk Krai and was given jurisdiction over Chukotka National Okrug which was originally under jurisdiction of Kamchatka oblast.

FactSnippet No. 604,514

The Khabarovsk Krai took its modern form in 1956 when Kamchatka oblast became its own region and took Koryak National Okrug with it.

FactSnippet No. 604,515

On 24 April 1996 Khabarovsk Krai signed a power-sharing agreement with the federal government, granting it autonomy.

FactSnippet No. 604,516

The 2020 Khabarovsk Krai protests began on 11 July 2020 in support of Furgal.

FactSnippet No. 604,517

The administrative centre, Khabarovsk Krai, is at the junction of the Amur River and the Trans-Siberian Railway.

FactSnippet No. 604,518

Rural locations of Khabarovsk Krai had a positive natural growth of population in 2008.

FactSnippet No. 604,519