21 Facts About Larissa


Larissa is the capital and largest city of the Thessaly region in Greece.

FactSnippet No. 562,723

The municipality of Larissa has 162, 591 inhabitants, while the regional unit of Larissa reached a population of 284, 325.

FactSnippet No. 562,724

Today, Larissa is an important commercial, transportation, educational, agricultural and industrial centre of Greece.

FactSnippet No. 562,725

Climate of Larissa is cool semi-arid but it is close to a hot summer Mediterranean climate (Csa).

FactSnippet No. 562,726

In mythology, the nymph Larissa was a daughter of the primordial man Pelasgus.

FactSnippet No. 562,727

The area around Larissa was extremely fruitful; it was agriculturally important and in antiquity was known for its horses.

FactSnippet No. 562,728

The name of Thessalian Larissa is first recorded in connection with the aristocratic Aleuadai family.

FactSnippet No. 562,729

Larissa is thought to be where the famous Greek physician Hippocrates and the famous philosopher Gorgias of Leontini died.

FactSnippet No. 562,730

When Larissa ceased minting the federal coins it shared with other Thessalian towns and adopted its own coinage in the late fifth century BC, it chose local types for its coins.

FactSnippet No. 562,731

Larissa, sometimes written Larisa on ancient coins and inscriptions, is near the site of the Homeric Argissa.

FactSnippet No. 562,732

In 196 BC Larissa became an ally of Rome and was the headquarters of the Thessalian League.

FactSnippet No. 562,733

Larissa is frequently mentioned in connection with the Roman civil wars which preceded the establishment of the Roman Empire and Pompey sought refuge there after the defeat of Pharsalus.

FactSnippet No. 562,734

Larissa was the headquarters of Hursid Pasha during the Greek War of Independence.

FactSnippet No. 562,735

Today Larissa is the fourth largest Greek city with many squares, taverns and cafes.

FactSnippet No. 562,736

Larissa is an Orthodox Metropolis of the Church of Greece.

FactSnippet No. 562,737

Municipality Larissa was formed at the 2011 local government reform by the merger of the following 3 former municipalities, that became municipal units:.

FactSnippet No. 562,738

Municipal unit of Larissa is divided into four city-districts or municipal communities plus 2 suburban communities (Amphithea and Koulourion).

FactSnippet No. 562,739

From 1 January 2011, in accordance with the Kallikratis Plan, the new municipality of Larissa includes the former municipalities of Giannouli and Koilada.

FactSnippet No. 562,740

Larissa is a major agricultural center of Greece, due to the plain of Thessaly.

FactSnippet No. 562,741

In manufacturing sector, Larissa is among others home to Biokarpet carpet company and Orient Bikes.

FactSnippet No. 562,742

Larissa sits in the middle of the plain of Thessaly, with connections to Motorway A1 and national roads EO3 and EO6.

FactSnippet No. 562,743