39 Facts About Perth Glory


Perth Glory Football Club is an Australian professional soccer club based in Perth, Western Australia.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,704

Perth Glory has used this stadium as their home ground since their inception.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,705

Perth Glory first showed interest in joining the National Soccer League prior to its inaugural year in 1977.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,706

Perth Glory needed only a point in their final match of the season but were defeated by the Knights and fell just short of making the finals.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,707

Perth Glory subsequently lost on penalties, but this defining moment galvanised the team and would be a motivating force for years to come.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,708

Perth Glory was too inconsistent during the season, suffering from more player disharmony involving Stange's tactics, and falling just short of a top-two spot.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,709

Perth Glory had at times played good attacking football but proved unable to do so consistently.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,710

Perth Glory picked up Socceroo Simon Colosimo halfway through the season and eventually won the right to host the 2003 Grand Final after coming out on top of a new, confusing and convoluted league table finals format that had dragged a poor season out.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,711

Perth Glory thrashed Adelaide United in the preliminary final and faced Parramatta at Parramatta Stadium to try and go for back to back victories.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,712

Perth Glory's woeful recruiting strategy was evident with the early departure of star import Brian Deane after seven games.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,713

The FFA announced on 23 February 2007 that the Glory was to be handed over to a triumvirate of owners: Tony Sage, Brett McKeon and John Spence.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,714

The bold new era of Perth Glory began the same day, when it was announced the Glory were forming a strategic alliance with English Premier League club Manchester City.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,715

Perth Glory made multiple new signings, including released Eugene Dadi, Adriano Pellegrino, Adrian Trinidad, Josip Magdic, Naum Sekulovski, Brazilian international midfielder Amaral, youngster Scott Bulloch and former Glory midfielder Wayne Srhoj.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,716

Mitchell's contract extension, despite Perth Glory's slow start, showed the new direction Perth Glory's club was heading, of vision, but built on stable foundations.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,717

The Perth Glory were knocked out in the elimination final against Wellington Phoenix on penalties.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,718

Perth Glory finished second last in the season, after losing their last 5 games.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,719

Perth Glory again slumped in form, winning one out of their last 9 matches including 7 defeats.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,720

However, after apologising and dismissing his threats as an emotional outburst, Perth Glory went out to win 9 of their last 15 and finished third on the ladder, qualifying for the finals series for the second time in their A-League history.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,721

Perth Glory embarked on signing youth, players Chris Harold and Adrian Zahra were signed, while Brandon O'Neill and Ndumba Makeche were promoted from the youth squad.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,722

Perth Glory won the Grand Final re-match, One goal to Nil, in Round One of the season to hand "revenge" to the Rado Vidosic led Brisbane Roar.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,723

Perth Glory started the season on a high, quickly becoming league leaders and managing a run in the inaugural 2014 FFA Cup that reached the final.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,724

Perth Glory started the regular A-League season strongly not losing their opening eight fixtures, the only team to do so that season.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,725

The regular season ended with Perth Glory winning 18 out of 27 matches in the league and only losing three games total, with only one away from home, earning a club record of 60 points overall.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,726

In March 2019, Perth Glory confirmed they had signed Melbourne City FC striker Bruno Fornaroli on a two-year deal.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,727

Perth Glory signed other players including Brisbane Roar pair Dane Ingham and Nicholas D'Agostino, former Melbourne City defender Osama Malik, Swiss international Gregory Wuthrich and Socceroo James Meredith.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,728

Perth Glory were eliminated in the group stage in their debut AFC Champions League season, after finishing 4th in their group with one point to their name.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,729

Perth Glory failed to qualify for the 2022 Australia Cup, having lost to Newcastle Jets in the post-season play-off.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,730

On 23 October 2011, Perth Glory wore a predominantly blue jersey in recognition of the 125-year anniversary of their major sponsor, QBE Insurance, in a match against Wellington Phoenix.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,731

The word 'Perth Glory' is incorporated into the badge, in an arch above the soccer ball.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,732

Since 2008, the Perth Glory have had a range of different supporting sponsors, including Clough, National Storage and Europcar.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,733

Perth Glory have played their home games at Perth Oval since their inception, a stadium that holds 20,500 spectators.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,734

Perth Glory was released from their contractual requirement after then-Glory chairman Nick Tana decided to proceed with a redevelopment of Leederville Oval.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,735

In 2002, East Perth Glory agreed to move to Leederville Oval and the state government agreed to turn Perth Glory Oval into a dedicated rectangular venue.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,736

Western Force and Perth Glory joined forces to lobby the Western Australian Government for a ground of this size.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,737

Major redevelopment occurred at Perth Glory Oval starting in June 2012, with the southern and eastern stands being replaced with permanent structures.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,738

Perth Glory developed a rivalry against Wellington Phoenix after the side was established in 2007, titled 'The Distance Derby'.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,739

Perth Glory developed a rivalry with former National Soccer League side Melbourne Knights.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,740

Perth Glory had a decline in form after the start of the A-League, failing to reach the finals series for several seasons.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,741

Perth Glory hosted a grand final for the first time since 2003 in the same season, eventually losing on penalties to Sydney.

FactSnippet No. 2,366,742