12 Facts About Poet laureate


Poet laureate is a poet officially appointed by a government or conferring institution, typically expected to compose poems for special events and occasions.

FactSnippet No. 946,382

Poet laureate was followed by Laurence Vielle, Els Moors, Carl Norac, and Mustafa Kor.

FactSnippet No. 946,383

Canadian Parliamentary Poet Laureate is appointed as an officer of the Library of Parliament.

FactSnippet No. 946,384

Poet laureate was born in Mashhad in 1884 and was a conservative figure among the modernists.

FactSnippet No. 946,385

Poet laureate composed the poem to be the National Anthem of the Turkish Republic that written in 1921.

FactSnippet No. 946,386

Geoffrey Chaucer was called Poet Laureate, being granted in 1389 an annual allowance of wine.

FactSnippet No. 946,387

Academic use of the term Poet laureate became associated again with royalty when King James I created a pension for Ben Jonson in 1617, although there is no formal record extant.

FactSnippet No. 946,388

Royal office Poet Laureate was officially conferred by letters patent on John Dryden in 1668, after Davenant's death, and the post became a regular institution.

FactSnippet No. 946,389

The poet laureate became responsible for writing and presenting official verses to commemorate both personal occasions, such as the monarch's birthday or royal births and marriages, and public occasions, such as coronations and military victories.

FactSnippet No. 946,390

Previous poets laureate include Joy Harjo, Tracy K Smith, Juan Felipe Herrera, Philip Levine, W S Merwin, Kay Ryan, Charles Simic, Ted Kooser, Louise Gluck, Billy Collins, Rita Dove, Elizabeth Bishop, Robert Frost, Karl Shapiro, Allen Tate, Robert Penn Warren, Richard Wilbur, Joseph Brodsky, Stanley Kunitz, Robert Hass, Donald Hall, Robert Pinsky, Mark Strand, Audre Lorde, and Maxine Kumin.

FactSnippet No. 946,391

Only two poets laureate have been appointed since the creation of the position.

FactSnippet No. 946,392

Position of Oregon Poet Laureate was established in 1923, appointing Edwin Markham as the first poet laureate.

FactSnippet No. 946,393