10 Facts About SCCA


The SCCA began sanctioning road racing in 1948 with the inaugural Watkins Glen Grand Prix.

FactSnippet No. 2,359,169

SCCA dropped its amateur policy in 1962 and began sanctioning professional racing.

FactSnippet No. 2,359,170

Current SCCA-sanctioned series include Trans Am, the GT World Challenge America for GT and touring cars, the Global MX-5 Cup, F2000 Championship Series, F1600 Championship Series and the Atlantic Championship Series.

FactSnippet No. 2,359,171

SCCA Pro Racing has sanctioned professional series for some amateur classes such as Spec Racer Ford Pro and Formula Enterprises Pro.

FactSnippet No. 2,359,172

SCCA Pro Racing sanctioned the Volkswagen Jetta TDI Cup during its time.

FactSnippet No. 2,359,173

On 25 May 2019, the weekend of the 2019 Indianapolis 500, SCCA announced they will be returning to Indianapolis Motor Speedway in 2021.

FactSnippet No. 2,359,174

The SCCA holds national-level events in an alternate format called "ProSolo".

FactSnippet No. 2,359,175

SCCA ProRally was a national performance rally series similar to the World Rally Championship.

FactSnippet No. 2,359,176

In recent years, the SCCA has expanded and re-organized some of the higher-speed events under the Time Trials banner.

FactSnippet No. 2,359,177

SCCA is organized into six conferences, nine divisions and 115 regions, each organizing events in that area to make the events more accessible to people throughout the country.

FactSnippet No. 2,359,178