14 Facts About Indianapolis 500


Indianapolis 500, formally known as the Indianapolis 500-Mile Race, and commonly called the Indy 500, is an annual automobile race held at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Speedway, Indiana, United States, an enclave suburb of Indianapolis.

FactSnippet No. 640,347

Indianapolis 500 is held annually at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, a 2.

FactSnippet No. 640,348

Similar to NASCAR's Daytona 500, the Indianapolis 500 is typically held early in the IndyCar Series season.

FactSnippet No. 640,349

Traditional 33-car starting field at Indianapolis 500 is larger than the fields at the other IndyCar races.

FactSnippet No. 640,350

From 1950 to 1960, the Indianapolis 500 counted toward the FIA's World Championship of Drivers, although few drivers participated in the other races of that series.

FactSnippet No. 640,351

Indianapolis 500 itself remained under the sanctioning control of USAC.

FactSnippet No. 640,352

Two CART teams, Walker Racing and Galles Racing, competed in the Indianapolis 500 to fulfill sponsor obligations and were welcomed without incident.

FactSnippet No. 640,353

The National Indy Indianapolis 500 Collectors Club is an independent active organization that has been dedicated to supporting such activities.

FactSnippet No. 640,354

Indianapolis 500 has been the subject of several films and has been referenced many times in television, movies, and other media.

FactSnippet No. 640,355

Indianapolis 500 was captured by a photographer in the act of swigging from the bottle while holding up three fingers to signify the third win.

FactSnippet No. 640,356

Indianapolis 500 eventually relented and drank from the milk bottle later in the post-race ceremonies after the broadcast was over, but the public relations damage had already been done.

FactSnippet No. 640,357

Female participation of any sort at Indianapolis 500 was discouraged and essentially banned throughout the first several decades of competition.

FactSnippet No. 640,358

In 2019, coverage of the Indianapolis 500 moved to NBC, as part of a new three-year contract that unifies the IndyCar Series' television rights with NBC Sports, and replaces the package of five races broadcast by ABC with an eight-race package on NBC.

FactSnippet No. 640,359

The Indianapolis 500 is one of the eight races; this contract ended ABC's 54-year tenure as broadcaster of the race.

FactSnippet No. 640,360