12 Facts About Sejm


Sejm, officially known as the Sejm of the Republic of Poland, is the lower house of the bicameral parliament of Poland.

FactSnippet No. 2,338,170

Sejm has been the highest governing body of the Third Polish Republic since the transition of government in 1989.

FactSnippet No. 2,338,171

The Sejm is composed of 460 deputies elected every four years by a universal ballot.

FactSnippet No. 2,338,172

The Sejm is presided over by a speaker called the "Marshal of the Sejm".

FactSnippet No. 2,338,173

Since the Second Polish Republic, "Sejm" has only referred to the lower house of parliament.

FactSnippet No. 2,338,174

Related searches

Poland Lithuania Lublin

The Sejm eventually became even more active in supporting the goals of the privileged classes when the King ordered that the landed nobility and their estates be drafted into military service.

FactSnippet No. 2,338,175

Union of Lublin in 1569, united the Kingdom of Poland and the Grand Duchy of Lithuania as one single state, the Polish–Lithuanian Commonwealth, and thus the Sejm was supplemented with new envoys from among the Lithuanian nobility.

FactSnippet No. 2,338,176

The Sejm had the right to call for votes on civil and administrative legal issues, and, with permission from the king, it could vote on matters related to the fiscal policy and the military.

FactSnippet No. 2,338,177

On 2 September 1939, the Sejm held its final pre-war session, during which it declared Poland's readiness to defend itself against invading German forces.

FactSnippet No. 2,338,178

Sejm voted on the budget and on the periodic national plans that were a fixture of communist economies.

FactSnippet No. 2,338,179

The Sejm deliberated in sessions that were ordered to convene by the State Council.

FactSnippet No. 2,338,180

The Sejm is composed of 460 deputies elected by proportional representation every four years.

FactSnippet No. 2,338,181