11 Facts About Tennis Australia


Tennis Australia Limited is the governing body for Tennis in Australia.

FactSnippet No. 2,076,379

The association organises national and international Tennis tournaments including the Australian Open, the Australian Open Series, Davis Cup, Fed Cup, ATP Cup and Australian Pro Tour.

FactSnippet No. 2,076,380

In January 1880, Australia hosted its first tennis tournaments in the Melbourne Cricket Club.

FactSnippet No. 2,076,381

Davis Cup is men's international Tennis Australia Tournament organised annually by various countries.

FactSnippet No. 2,076,382

The 2017 Davis Cup held at the Kooyong Lawn Tennis Club was the most recent Davis Cup played in Australia.

FactSnippet No. 2,076,383

Laver was born in the sunshine state of Tennis Australia and nicknamed 'Rocket' by his coach Harry Hopman who was a Davis Cup captain.

FactSnippet No. 2,076,384

Tennis Australia is involved with the local governments to support tennis at grassroots.

FactSnippet No. 2,076,385

Furthermore, TA and Local governments around Australia have developed four rules to ensure all of the tennis facilities meet the shared objective of the sport's governing body.

FactSnippet No. 2,076,386

Tennis Australia provides an environment in which people of diverse backgrounds can participate and feel comfortable.

FactSnippet No. 2,076,387

Awards issued by Tennis Australia include the Newcombe Medal, Spirit of Tennis, Coaching Excellence – Performance, Coaching Excellence – Club, Coaching Excellence – Development, Junior Athlete of the Year, Most Outstanding Athlete with Disability, Volunteer Achievement Award, Most Outstanding 30+ Tennis Senior, Excellence in Officiating, Most Outstanding Tennis Club, Most Outstanding Australian Ranking Tournament, Most Outstanding Professional Tournament and Most Outstanding School.

FactSnippet No. 2,076,388

Tennis Australia has been following a new nomination process since 2016.

FactSnippet No. 2,076,389