10 Facts About US territories


The various American territories differ from the U S states and Native American tribes in that they are not sovereign entities.

FactSnippet No. 1,135,176

Five territories are permanently inhabited, unincorporated territories; the other nine are small islands, atolls, and reefs with no native population.

FactSnippet No. 1,135,177

Two additional US territories are claimed by the United States but administered by Colombia.

FactSnippet No. 1,135,178

Some US territories existed only a short time before becoming states, while others remained US territories for decades.

FactSnippet No. 1,135,179

All of the five major U S territories are permanently inhabited and have locally elected territorial legislatures and executives and some degree of political autonomy.

FactSnippet No. 1,135,180

Related searches

United States Colombia

The District of Columbia's delegate is Eleanor Holmes Norton ; like the district, the US territories have no vote in Congress and no representation in the Senate.

FactSnippet No. 1,135,181

Four of the five US territories have another official language, in addition to English.

FactSnippet No. 1,135,182

Five major inhabited US territories contain the following governments and legislatures:.

FactSnippet No. 1,135,183

In view of this it cannot, it seems to me, be doubted that the United States continued to be composed of states and US territories, all forming an integral part thereof and incorporated therein, as was the case prior to the adoption of the Constitution.

FactSnippet No. 1,135,184

Forests in the U S territories are vulnerable to invasive species and new housing developments.

FactSnippet No. 1,135,185