12 Facts About Western Sydney


Greater Western Sydney is a large region of the metropolitan area of Greater Sydney, New South Wales, Australia that generally embraces the north-west, south-west, central-west, and far western sub-regions within Sydney's metropolitan area and encompasses 13 local government areas: Blacktown, Blue Mountains, Camden, Campbelltown, Canterbury-Bankstown, Cumberland, Fairfield, Hawkesbury, Hills Shire, Liverpool, Parramatta, Penrith and Wollondilly.

FactSnippet No. 1,906,057

Main plant communities in the Greater Western Sydney region are sclerophyll grassy woodlands, reminiscent of Mediterranean forests and savannas, with small pockets of wet sclerophyll forests to the northeast as one approaches the Hornsby Plateau.

FactSnippet No. 1,906,058

Sandstone slopes in the Western Sydney area are on three sides: to the west the Blue Mountains, and to the north and south, the Hornsby and Woronora plateau.

FactSnippet No. 1,906,059

The south and southwest of Western Sydney is drained by the Georges River, flowing north from its source near Appin, towards Liverpool and then turning east towards Botany Bay.

FactSnippet No. 1,906,060

Western Sydney is the most religious and socially conservative region in Sydney.

FactSnippet No. 1,906,061

Previously, the districts of Ku-ring-gai, Hornsby Shire and The Hills Shire in the north were the most religious areas in Western Sydney, and were formerly known as being part of Western Sydney's "bible belt".

FactSnippet No. 1,906,062

Western Sydney as defined by the WSROC region covers 5,800 square kilometres and had an estimated resident population as at 30 June 2008 of 1,665,673.

FactSnippet No. 1,906,063

Western Sydney is home to a large number of marginal electorates at both a state and federal level.

FactSnippet No. 1,906,064

Western Sydney includes, or partially includes, the NSW Electoral Districts of Penrith, Londonderry, Mulgoa, Camden, Macquarie Fields, Campbelltown, Liverpool, Cabramatta, Fairfield, Prospect, Bankstown, Granville, Parramatta, Seven Hills, Baulkham Hills, Castle Hill, Riverstone, Mount Druitt, Blacktown, Holsworthy, Bankstown, Auburn, Hawkesbury.

FactSnippet No. 1,906,065

Western Sydney is considered a particularly crucial region in federal politics, and the region's social conservativism has been credited with forming policy on migration and the treatment of asylum seekers by both major political parties.

FactSnippet No. 1,906,066

Western Sydney voted 'no' in high margins in the Australian Marriage Law Postal Survey held in 2017.

FactSnippet No. 1,906,067

Greater Western Sydney is served by 5 Sydney television networks, three commercial and two national services:.

FactSnippet No. 1,906,068