21 Facts About New South Wales


New South Wales is a state on the east coast of Australia.

FactSnippet No. 1,834,338

Original inhabitants of New South Wales were the Aboriginal tribes who arrived in Australia about 40,000 to 60,000 years ago.

FactSnippet No. 1,834,339

Phillip, as Governor of New South Wales, exercised nominal authority over all of Australia east of the 135th meridian east between the latitudes of 10°37'S and 43°39'S, an area which includes modern New South Wales, Queensland, Victoria and Tasmania.

FactSnippet No. 1,834,340

Transportation of convicts to New South Wales ended in 1840, and in 1842 a Legislative Council was introduced, with two-thirds of its members elected and one-third appointed by the governor.

FactSnippet No. 1,834,341

In 1856 New South Wales achieved responsible government with the introduction of a bicameral parliament comprising a directly elected Legislative Assembly and a nominated Legislative Council.

FactSnippet No. 1,834,342

New South Wales was hit harder by the depression than other states, and by 1932 one third of union members in the state were unemployed, compared with 20 per cent nationally.

FactSnippet No. 1,834,343

Elkin found that the population of New South Wales responded to the outbreak of war in 1939 with pessimism and apathy.

FactSnippet No. 1,834,344

New South Wales maintained high personal approval ratings for her management of a bushfire crisis and the COVID-19 pandemic.

FactSnippet No. 1,834,345

New South Wales is bordered on the north by Queensland, on the west by South Australia, on the south by Victoria and on the east by the Coral and Tasman Seas.

FactSnippet No. 1,834,346

One possible definition of the centre for New South Wales is located 33 kilometres west-north-west of Tottenham.

FactSnippet No. 1,834,347

At the 2021 census, there were 2,794,666 people living in New South Wales that were born overseas, accounting for 34.

FactSnippet No. 1,834,348

Executive authority is vested in the Governor of New South Wales, who represents and is appointed by The King of Australia Charles III.

FactSnippet No. 1,834,349

Form of the Government of New South Wales is prescribed in its Constitution, dating from 1856 and currently the Constitution Act 1902.

FactSnippet No. 1,834,350

Since 1901 New South Wales has been a state of the Commonwealth of Australia, and the Australian Constitution regulates its relationship with the Commonwealth.

FactSnippet No. 1,834,351

Under the Australian Constitution, New South Wales ceded certain legislative and judicial powers to the Commonwealth, but retained independence in all other areas.

FactSnippet No. 1,834,352

The New South Wales Constitution says: "The Legislature shall, subject to the provisions of the Commonwealth of Australia Constitution Act, have power to make laws for the peace, welfare, and good government of New South Wales in all cases whatsoever".

FactSnippet No. 1,834,353

The Parliament of New South Wales is composed of the Sovereign and two houses: the Legislative Assembly, and the Legislative Council.

FactSnippet No. 1,834,354

New South Wales is policed by the New South Wales Police Force, a statutory authority.

FactSnippet No. 1,834,355

In music, New South Wales is home to the Sydney Symphony Orchestra, Australia's busiest and largest orchestra.

FactSnippet No. 1,834,356

New South Wales is home to several major museums and art galleries, including the Australian Museum, the Powerhouse Museum, the Museum of Sydney, the Art Gallery of New South Wales and the Museum of Contemporary Art.

FactSnippet No. 1,834,357

New South Wales is the setting and shooting location of many Australian films, including Mad Max 2, which was shot near the mining town of Broken Hill.

FactSnippet No. 1,834,358