34 Facts About Queensland


Queensland is a state situated in northeastern Australia, the second-largest and third-most populous Australian state.

FactSnippet No. 1,086,970

Queensland was first inhabited by Aboriginal Australians and Torres Strait Islanders.

FactSnippet No. 1,086,971

Queensland was explored in subsequent decades, and the Moreton Bay Penal Settlement was established at Brisbane in 1824 by John Oxley.

FactSnippet No. 1,086,972

Queensland was separated from New South Wales on 6 June 1859, thereby establishing Queensland as a self-governing Crown colony with responsible government, named in honour of Queen Victoria.

FactSnippet No. 1,086,973

Queensland was among the six colonies which became the founding states of Australia with Federation on 1 January 1901.

FactSnippet No. 1,086,974

Since the Bjelke-Petersen era of the late 20th century, Queensland has received a high level of internal migration from the other states and territories of Australia and remains a popular destination for interstate migration.

FactSnippet No. 1,086,975

Queensland has the third-largest economy among Australian states, with strengths in mining, agriculture, transportation, international education, insurance and banking.

FactSnippet No. 1,086,976

Queensland returned in 1824 and established a penal settlement at what is Redcliffe.

FactSnippet No. 1,086,977

The "Native Police Force", employed by the Queensland government, was key in the oppression of the indigenous people.

FactSnippet No. 1,086,978

On 10 December 1859, a proclamation was read by George Bowen, the first Governor of Queensland, formally establishing Queensland as a separate colony from New South Wales.

FactSnippet No. 1,086,979

On 22 May 1860 the first Queensland election was held and Robert Herbert, Bowen's private secretary, was appointed as the first Premier of Queensland.

FactSnippet No. 1,086,980

Queensland's economy expanded rapidly in 1867 after James Nash discovered gold on the Mary River near the town of Gympie, sparking a gold rush.

FactSnippet No. 1,086,981

In 1922, Queensland abolished the Queensland Legislative Council, becoming the only Australian state with a unicameral parliament.

FactSnippet No. 1,086,982

Since that time, Queensland has continuously seen high levels of migration from the other states and territories of Australia.

FactSnippet No. 1,086,983

Queensland's coastline includes the world's three largest sand islands: K'gari, Moreton and North Stradbroke.

FactSnippet No. 1,086,984

Nonetheless, Queensland is the second most decentralised state in Australia after Tasmania.

FactSnippet No. 1,086,985

Since the 1980s, Queensland has consistently been the fastest-growing state in Australia, as it receives high levels of both international immigration and migration from interstate.

FactSnippet No. 1,086,986

The state's oldest university, the University of Queensland, was established in 1909 and frequently ranks among the world's top 50.

FactSnippet No. 1,086,987

The Whitsunday Islands off the coast of North Queensland are a popular tourist destinations for their resort facilities and access to the Great Barrier Reef.

FactSnippet No. 1,086,988

One of the six founding states of Australia, Queensland has been a federated state subject to the Australian Constitution since 1 January 1901.

FactSnippet No. 1,086,989

Executive authority is nominally vested in the Governor of Queensland who represents and is appointed by the Monarch of Australia on the advice of the Premier of Queensland.

FactSnippet No. 1,086,990

Elections in Queensland are held at the end of each fixed four-year parliamentary term, and are determined by instant-runoff voting.

FactSnippet No. 1,086,991

Queensland is divided into 77 local government areas, which are created by the state government under legislation.

FactSnippet No. 1,086,992

State of Queensland is represented in all of Australia's national sporting competitions and it is host to a number of domestic and international sporting events.

FactSnippet No. 1,086,993

Rugby league's annual State of Origin series is a major event in the Queensland sporting calendar, with the Queensland Maroons representing the state.

FactSnippet No. 1,086,994

In cricket, the Queensland Bulls represent the state in the Sheffield Shield and the Ryobi One Day Cup, while the Brisbane Heat compete in the Big Bash League.

FactSnippet No. 1,086,995

Queensland is home to the Brisbane Lions and the Gold Coast Suns in the Australian Football League, and the Brisbane Roar FC in the A-League .

FactSnippet No. 1,086,996

In netball the Queensland Firebirds went undefeated in the 2011 season as they went on to win the Grand Final.

FactSnippet No. 1,086,997

Major recurring sporting events hosted in Queensland include: the Gold Coast 600, the Gold Coast Marathon, the NRL All Stars Game, the Townsville 400, the Quicksilver Pro and Roxy Pro and Australian PGA Championship .

FactSnippet No. 1,086,998

The Queensland Government introduced the poll due to a proposal by state tourism ministers for all states to adopt a faunal emblem.

FactSnippet No. 1,086,999

Queensland is served by a number of National Highways and, particularly in South East Queensland, a network of freeways such as the M1.

FactSnippet No. 1,087,000

Freight rail services in Queensland have been provided mostly by Aurizon and Pacific National, with interstate intermodal services provided by Pacific National and SCT Logistics.

FactSnippet No. 1,087,001

South East Queensland has an integrated public transport system operated by TransLink, which provides services bus, rail, light rail and Brisbane's ferry services through Queensland Rail and contracted operators.

FactSnippet No. 1,087,002

Queensland Health operates and administers the state's public health system.

FactSnippet No. 1,087,003