28 Facts About South Australia


South Australia is a state in the southern central part of Australia.

FactSnippet No. 1,000,686

Land which now forms the state of South Australia was claimed for Britain in 1788 as part of the colony of New South Wales.

FactSnippet No. 1,000,687

On 15 August 1834, the British Parliament passed the South Australia Act 1834, which empowered His Majesty to erect and establish a province or provinces in southern Australia.

FactSnippet No. 1,000,688

South Australia is the only Australian state to have never received British convicts.

FactSnippet No. 1,000,689

The South Australia Police was formed in April 1838 to protect the community and enforce government regulations.

FactSnippet No. 1,000,690

Current flag of South Australia was adopted on 13 January 1904, and is a British blue ensign defaced with the state badge.

FactSnippet No. 1,000,691

South Australia has boundaries with every other Australian mainland state and territory except the Australian Capital Territory and the Jervis Bay Territory.

FactSnippet No. 1,000,692

South Australia's economy relies on exports more than any other state in Australia.

FactSnippet No. 1,000,693

South Australia receives the least amount of federal funding for its local road network of all states on a per capita and a per kilometre basis.

FactSnippet No. 1,000,694

In 2013, South Australia was named by CommSec as the second lowest performing economy in Australia.

FactSnippet No. 1,000,695

South Australia came out of the COVID-19 recession better than the other Australian states, with the economy growing by 3.

FactSnippet No. 1,000,696

South Australia has the lead over other Australian states for its commercialisation and commitment to renewable energy.

FactSnippet No. 1,000,697

Crown land held in right of South Australia is managed under the Crown Land Management Act 2009.

FactSnippet No. 1,000,698

South Australia is a constitutional monarchy with King Charles III as sovereign, and the Governor of South Australia as hisrepresentative.

FactSnippet No. 1,000,699

South Australia was accountable only to the British Colonial Office, and thus democracy did not exist in the colony.

FactSnippet No. 1,000,700

Women's suffrage in Australia took a leap forward – enacted in 1895 and taking effect from the 1896 colonial election, South Australia was the first government in Australia and only the second in the world after New Zealand to allow women to vote, and the first in the world to allow women to stand for election.

FactSnippet No. 1,000,701

South Australia became an original state of the Commonwealth of Australia on 1 January 1901.

FactSnippet No. 1,000,702

Local government in South Australia is established by the Constitution Act 1934, the Local Government Act 1999, and the Local Government Act 1999 .

FactSnippet No. 1,000,703

South Australia contains 68 councils and 6 Aboriginal and outback communities.

FactSnippet No. 1,000,704

On 14 June 2013, South Australia became the third Australian state to sign up to the Australian Federal Government's Gonski Reform Program.

FactSnippet No. 1,000,705

Largest public provider of vocational education is TAFE South Australia which is made up of colleges throughout the state, many of these in rural areas, providing tertiary education to as many people as possible.

FactSnippet No. 1,000,706

South Australia has four interstate rail connections, to Perth via the Nullarbor Plain, to Darwin through the centre of the continent, to New South Wales through Broken Hill, and to Melbourne–which is the closest capital city to Adelaide.

FactSnippet No. 1,000,707

South Australia has extensive road networks linking towns and other states.

FactSnippet No. 1,000,708

South Australia has been known as "the Festival State" for many years, for its abundance of arts and gastronomic festivals.

FactSnippet No. 1,000,709

Marshall said when launching the plan: “The arts sector in South Australia is already very strong but it's been operating without a plan for 20 years”.

FactSnippet No. 1,000,710

The traditional home of Australian rules football in South Australia was Football Park in the western suburb of West Lakes, which was the home ground of both AFL teams until 2013.

FactSnippet No. 1,000,711

South Australia is home to the Adelaide Strikers, an Australian men's professional Twenty20 cricket team, that competes in Australia's domestic Twenty20 cricket competition, the Big Bash League.

FactSnippet No. 1,000,712

Crime in South Australia is managed by the South Australia Police, various state and federal courts in the criminal justice system and the state Department for Correctional Services, which administers the prisons and remand centre.

FactSnippet No. 1,000,713