11 Facts About AirAsia India


AirAsia India is an airline in India headquartered in Bangalore, Karnataka.

FactSnippet No. 970,665

AirAsia India commenced operations on 12 June 2014 with Bengaluru as its primary hub.

FactSnippet No. 970,666

In March 2013, AirAsia India announced that it would establish a joint venture with Tata Sons and Telestra Tradeplace with Tata Sons representing the airline with two non-executive directors in the board.

FactSnippet No. 970,667

AirAsia India planned to begin operations to various tier 2 and tier 3 cities with Chennai International Airport as its main operating base.

FactSnippet No. 970,668

AirAsia India was established on 28 March 2013 and became the first foreign airline to set up a subsidiary in India.

FactSnippet No. 970,669

Related searches

Bangalore Karnataka Chennai

In July 2020, AirAsia India launched an aviation analytics app that would help enhance the operational efficiency of the airline by monitoring and helping manage aircraft turnaround between flights with data analytics in real time.

FactSnippet No. 970,670

AirAsia India added the gender-neutral honorific Mx as a third option for passengers booking tickets from June 2022.

FactSnippet No. 970,671

AirAsia India is headquartered in the Alpha 3 Building on the property of Kempegowda International Airport, in Devanahalli, Bangalore, India.

FactSnippet No. 970,672

On 15 May 2013, AirAsia India appointed management consultant Mittu Chandilya as CEO.

FactSnippet No. 970,673

In June 2018, Amar Abrol reportedly quit and in October 2018, AirAsia India announced that Sunil Bhaskaran had been appointed managing director and CEO of the airline.

FactSnippet No. 970,674

AirAsia India operates over 200 daily flights connecting 18 destinations across India.

FactSnippet No. 970,675