11 Facts About Asturias


Since the Lower Paleolithic era, and during the Upper Paleolithic, Asturias was characterized by cave paintings in the eastern part of the area.

FactSnippet No. 1,210,096

On 30 December 1981, Asturias became an autonomous community within the decentralised territorial structure established by the Constitution of 1978.

FactSnippet No. 1,210,097

Spanish government study conducted in 2010 regarding life expectancy in relative communities, Asturias was ranked lowest for male life expectancy with 76.

FactSnippet No. 1,210,098

Organisation and political structure of Asturias is governed by the Statute of Autonomy of the Principality of Asturias, in force since 30 January 1982.

FactSnippet No. 1,210,099

Oviedo is the capital city of Asturias and contains Santa Maria del Naranco and San Miguel de Lillo, a pre-Romanesque church and a palace respectively, which were built by the first Asturian kings on Mount Naranco, to the north of the city .

FactSnippet No. 1,210,100

Gijon, the biggest city of Asturias, is a coastal city known for cultural and sports events, and a beach tourism centre in northern Spain.

FactSnippet No. 1,210,101

Aviles is the third largest city in Asturias, where "La villa del adelantado" is a meeting point.

FactSnippet No. 1,210,102

Paleolithic art in the caves of Asturias is a declared World Heritage Site with the Paleolithic Art of Northern Spain.

FactSnippet No. 1,210,103

Romanesque style is very present, since all Asturias is crossed by one of the Camino de Santiago routes, which highlights the Monastery of San Pedro de Villanueva, the churches of San Esteban de Aramil, San Juan de Amandi and Santa Maria de Junco .

FactSnippet No. 1,210,104

In popular architecture, the traditional granaries in Asturias, called horreos, are known for their demographic extension and their functional evolution, its basic characteristic being its mobility: it can be easily dismounted and transported to another location.

FactSnippet No. 1,210,105

Football players from Asturias include World Cup winner David Villa as well as Quini, Luis Enrique, Juan Manuel Mata, and Santiago Cazorla, among others.

FactSnippet No. 1,210,106