10 Facts About Babe Ruth League


Babe Ruth League is an international youth baseball and softball league based in Hamilton, New Jersey, US named after George Herman "Babe" Ruth.

FactSnippet No. 1,256,666

Parent program, Babe Ruth League, Incorporated, is a non-profit, tax-exempt organization.

FactSnippet No. 1,256,667

Baseball Hall of Fame inductees who played Babe Ruth League include Carl Yastrzemski, Joe Morgan, Jim Palmer, Rod Carew, George Brett, Nolan Ryan, Cal Ripken Jr.

FactSnippet No. 1,256,668

Babe Ruth League, Inc recognizes Marius D Bonacci as the Founding Father of the program, along with the contribution of the following nine men, Samuel M Welch, Ferdinand J Wagner, Ed Jones, Ted Jasek, Cliff Fovour, Boots Snyder, William Dombrowski, Maskill Paxson and Willard Carson Jr.

FactSnippet No. 1,256,669

Originally organized under the name Little Bigger League, Claire Merritt Ruth, the widow of Babe Ruth, met with the league's organizers in 1954 and authorized them to rename the league in Ruth's honor.

FactSnippet No. 1,256,670

The Prep Babe Ruth League allows 13-year-old players to make the transition to the regulation size diamond, while competing with peers their own age.

FactSnippet No. 1,256,671

In 1984, Babe Ruth League, Inc added another dimension to its program, Babe Ruth Softball.

FactSnippet No. 1,256,672

The program was organized because Babe Ruth League, Inc saw a need for a quality national softball program.

FactSnippet No. 1,256,673

Babe Ruth League introduced this prep league, comprising teams with only 13-year-old players, to foster more participation in the game for this age group.

FactSnippet No. 1,256,674

Babe Ruth League offers 12 World Series to its leagues to compete in.

FactSnippet No. 1,256,675