14 Facts About Bagalkot district


The Bagalkot district is located in northern Karnataka and borders Belgaum, Gadag, Koppal, Raichur and Bijapur.

FactSnippet No. 2,156,515

The new Bagalakote Bagalkot district was carved out of Vijayapura in 1997 via Government of Karnataka directive Notification RD 42 LRD 87 Part III.

FactSnippet No. 2,156,516

Bagalkot district is divided into ten taluks; each taluk is further subdivided into hoblies and villages and habitations.

FactSnippet No. 2,156,517

District of Bagalkot is situated entirely on the North Karnataka Plateau, which is part of the larger Deccan Plateau.

FactSnippet No. 2,156,518

Bagalkot district has ten taluks — Bagalkot, Ilkal, Badami, Hunagunda, Mudhol, Jamkhandi, Bilgi, Rabkavi Banhatti, Terdal, Guledgudda.

FactSnippet No. 2,156,519

Bagalkot district is devoid of large canopy tree vegetation; the region is semi-arid.

FactSnippet No. 2,156,520

Rabi and jowar are primarily cultivated in Bagalkot district, as are groundnut, cotton, maize, bajra, wheat, sugarcane and tobacco.

FactSnippet No. 2,156,521

Bagalkot district has not been affected by major seismic activity due to it being located in the stable Zone II.

FactSnippet No. 2,156,522

The Bagalkot district has a population density of 288 inhabitants per square kilometre.

FactSnippet No. 2,156,523

Bagalkot district has 6 taluks, comprising a total of 18 hoblies and 627 villages.

FactSnippet No. 2,156,524

The Bagalkot district has 163 Gram Panchayats and 12 urban agglomerations.

FactSnippet No. 2,156,525

Housing conditions in the Bagalkot district were identified as above average, per India's 2001 national census.

FactSnippet No. 2,156,526

Bagalkot district has a number of educational institutions, including Basaveshwara Vidya Vardhaka Sangha and Sakri Sangha.

FactSnippet No. 2,156,527

The Bagalkot district has the fifth highest farmer suicide rate in Karnataka.

FactSnippet No. 2,156,528