20 Facts About Barabanki district


Barabanki district is one of the five districts of Faizabad division, in the central Awadh region of Uttar Pradesh, India.

FactSnippet No. 2,005,456

Barabanki district is situated between 27°19' and 26°30' north latitude, and 80°05' and 81°51' east longitude; it runs in a south-easterly direction, confined by the nearly parallel streams of the Ghaghara and Gomti.

FactSnippet No. 2,005,457

In 1856, the Barabanki district came, with the rest of Oudh State, under British rule.

FactSnippet No. 2,005,458

The Barabanki district is fed by the rivers Ghaghra, Gomti, Kalyani and Rait and their tributaries, for the major part of the year.

FactSnippet No. 2,005,459

The Barabanki district roadways include connections to National Highway 28, state highways and various link roads.

FactSnippet No. 2,005,460

Current Barabanki district was first established by the British upon their annexation of Oudh State in 1856.

FactSnippet No. 2,005,461

Originally, the district was known as Daryabad district because its headquarters were at Daryabad, but in 1859 they were relocated to Barabanki.

FactSnippet No. 2,005,462

Previously, under the Nawabs of Awadh, the area that would become Barabanki district was divided between five chaklas: Daryabad-Rudauli, Ramnagar, Dewa-Jahangirabad, Jagdispur, and Haidargarh.

FactSnippet No. 2,005,463

Barabanki district is mostly within what was the Pachhimrath division of the kingdom of Rama.

FactSnippet No. 2,005,464

Bhar-Pasi chief Raja Sohil Deo of Sahet-Mahet and Rathor monarch Sri Chandradeo of Kannauj fought a battle in Satrikh village of the Barabanki district and drove out the Foreign Muslim Army in the Battle of Bahraich.

FactSnippet No. 2,005,465

In 1871 about half the Barabanki district was held by 43 talukdars; there were 5,397 village zemindars, and 1,354 under-proprietors.

FactSnippet No. 2,005,466

In 1877, Barabanki was one of the three districts of the then Lucknow division.

FactSnippet No. 2,005,467

Barabanki district is for the most part flat agricultural lands studded with groves.

FactSnippet No. 2,005,468

Principal river in the Barabanki district is the Ghaghra at a short distance from Bahramghat; it is formed by the Himalaya-fed rivers Chauka and Sarda, which meet in the Fatehpur tahsil.

FactSnippet No. 2,005,469

The finest jheel in this Barabanki district, that named Bhagghar, is situated in the Suratganj; it covers less than 5.

FactSnippet No. 2,005,470

Block development officers, who head each of the 15 development blocks of the Barabanki district, carry out the development schemes on behalf of the government.

FactSnippet No. 2,005,471

The Barabanki district is subdivided into 22 police stations, each of which is headed by an inspector or sub-inspector of police.

FactSnippet No. 2,005,472

Barabanki district has seven state-assembly constituencies which fall under two parliamentary constituencies.

FactSnippet No. 2,005,473

The Barabanki district had a population density of 740 inhabitants per square kilometre.

FactSnippet No. 2,005,474

The Barabanki district was 56th for literacy, with overall literacy rate of 63.

FactSnippet No. 2,005,475