11 Facts About Benelux


Benelux Union, known as simply Benelux, is a politico-economic union and formal international intergovernmental cooperation of three neighboring states in western Europe: Belgium, the Netherlands, and Luxembourg.

FactSnippet No. 1,048,035

Benelux is an economically dynamic and densely populated region, with 5.

FactSnippet No. 1,048,036

Benelux cooperation has been constantly adapted and now goes much further than mere economic cooperation, extending to new and topical policy areas connected with security, sustainable development, and the economy.

FactSnippet No. 1,048,037

The new Benelux cooperation focuses on three main topics: internal market and economic union, sustainability, justice and internal affairs.

FactSnippet No. 1,048,038

Benelux seeks region-to-region cooperation, be it with France and Germany or beyond with the Baltic States, the Nordic Council, the Visegrad countries, or even further.

FactSnippet No. 1,048,039

Benelux is particularly active in the field of intellectual property.

FactSnippet No. 1,048,040

The Benelux is committed to working together on adaptation to climate change.

FactSnippet No. 1,048,041

In 2020, a Benelux summit was held – online, due to the COVID-19 pandemic – under Dutch Presidency on 7 October between the prime ministers.

FactSnippet No. 1,048,042

In 2018 Benelux Union signed a declaration with France to strengthen cross-border cooperation.

FactSnippet No. 1,048,043

Beside these five institutions, the Benelux Organisation for Intellectual Property is an independent organisation.

FactSnippet No. 1,048,044

The negotiations do however take place in the established context of the Benelux working groups and institutions, rather than on an ad hoc basis.

FactSnippet No. 1,048,045