13 Facts About Cricket World Cup


Cricket World Cup is the international championship of One Day International cricket.

FactSnippet No. 1,260,630

However, a separate Women's Cricket World Cup had been held two years before the first men's tournament, and a tournament involving multiple international teams had been held as early as 1912, when a triangular tournament of Test matches was played between Australia, England and South Africa.

FactSnippet No. 1,260,631

Cricket World Cup was included as an Olympic sport at the 1900 Paris Games, where Great Britain defeated France to win the gold medal.

FactSnippet No. 1,260,632

Inaugural Cricket World Cup was hosted in 1975 by England, the only nation able to put forward the resources to stage an event of such magnitude at the time.

FactSnippet No. 1,260,633

At a meeting which followed the World Cup, the International Cricket Conference agreed to make the competition a quadrennial event.

FactSnippet No. 1,260,634

The World Cup was won by England, whose boundary count was greater than New Zealand's.

FactSnippet No. 1,260,635

The World Cricket League was the qualification system provided to allow the Associate and Affiliate members of the ICC more opportunities to qualify.

FactSnippet No. 1,260,636

Format of the Cricket World Cup has changed greatly over the course of its history.

FactSnippet No. 1,260,637

Format used in the 2007 World Cup involved 16 teams allocated into four groups of four.

FactSnippet No. 1,260,638

Format used in the 2011 and 2015 World Cups featured two groups of seven teams, each playing in a round-robin format.

FactSnippet No. 1,260,639

ICC Cricket World Cup Trophy is presented to the winners of the World Cup.

FactSnippet No. 1,260,640

The 1987 Cricket World Cup was held in India and Pakistan, the first hosted outside England.

FactSnippet No. 1,260,641

Sri Lanka, as a co-host of the 1996 World Cup, was the first host to win the tournament, though the final was held in Pakistan.

FactSnippet No. 1,260,642