13 Facts About Forbidden City


Forbidden City is a palace complex in Dongcheng District, Beijing, China, at the center of the Imperial City of Beijing.

FactSnippet No. 1,312,283

Forbidden City was constructed from 1406 to 1420, and was the former Chinese imperial palace and winter residence of the Emperor of China from the Ming dynasty to the end of the Qing dynasty, between 1420 and 1924.

FactSnippet No. 1,312,284

The Forbidden City served as the home of Chinese emperors and their households and was the ceremonial and political center of the Chinese government for over 500 years.

FactSnippet No. 1,312,285

Since 1925, the Forbidden City has been under the charge of the Palace Museum, whose extensive collection of artwork and artifacts were built upon the imperial collections of the Ming and Qing dynasties.

FactSnippet No. 1,312,286

Since 2012, the Forbidden City has seen an average of 14 million visitors annually, and received more than 19 million visitors in 2019.

FactSnippet No. 1,312,287

Forbidden City soon fled before the combined armies of former Ming general Wu Sangui and Manchu forces, setting fire to parts of the Forbidden City in the process.

FactSnippet No. 1,312,288

Forbidden City was declared a World Heritage Site in 1987 by UNESCO as the "Imperial Palace of the Ming and Qing Dynasties", due to its significant place in the development of Chinese architecture and culture.

FactSnippet No. 1,312,289

The Forbidden City is undergoing restoration of cultural relics and monuments, environmental improvement, and expansion of open areas for display and exhibition.

FactSnippet No. 1,312,290

The layout of the Forbidden City activated and protected the imperial code of ethics as a physical installation.

FactSnippet No. 1,312,291

The Forbidden City was designed to be the centre of the ancient, walled city of Beijing.

FactSnippet No. 1,312,292

All gates in the Forbidden City are decorated with a nine-by-nine array of golden door nails, except for the East Glorious Gate, which has only eight rows.

FactSnippet No. 1,312,293

Traditionally, the Forbidden City which is divided into two parts has the Outer Court or Front Court includes the southern sections, and was used for ceremonial purposes and the Inner Court or Back Palace includes the northern sections, and was the residence of the Emperor and his family, and was used for day-to-day affairs of state.

FactSnippet No. 1,312,294

Forbidden City has been influential in the subsequent development of Chinese architecture, as well as providing inspiration for many artistic works.

FactSnippet No. 1,312,295