21 Facts About LSU Tigers


LSU Tigers competes in Division I of the National Collegiate Athletic Association as a member of the Southeastern Conference .

FactSnippet No. 1,486,667

At one time, the "Lady LSU Tigers" nickname was used only in sports that have teams for both men and women—specifically basketball, cross country, golf, swimming and diving, tennis, and track and field –however since 2017, only women's basketball, cross country, and track and field use the "Lady LSU Tigers" moniker.

FactSnippet No. 1,486,668

LSU Tigers was the first SEC school to win at least one national championship in each of the big three sports.

FactSnippet No. 1,486,669

LSU Tigers has won 49 overall men's and women's team national championships through the 2017 NCAA athletic season.

FactSnippet No. 1,486,670

LSU Tigers ranks tied for ninth all-time in total NCAA Division I national championships through the 2017 NCAA athletic season.

FactSnippet No. 1,486,671

LSU Tigers has won four national championships, including two in the last decade.

FactSnippet No. 1,486,672

LSU Tigers won their second national championship during the 2003 season by defeating the Oklahoma Sooners in the 2004 BCS National Championship Game.

FactSnippet No. 1,486,673

LSU Tigers boxing started as a club sport in 1929 and enjoyed its first varsity season in 1930.

FactSnippet No. 1,486,674

The Tigers held matches at the Huey P Long Field House and starting in 1937 at the John M Parker Agricultural Coliseum.

FactSnippet No. 1,486,675

In 1934, LSU Tigers won its first Southeastern Conference title by beating rival Tulane.

FactSnippet No. 1,486,676

Late in the 1930s, LSU Tigers won additional SEC titles and finished with a second-place finish in the 1939 NCAA Tournament and a third-place finish in 1940 NCAA Tournament.

FactSnippet No. 1,486,677

Ultimately, LSU Tigers announced in 1956 it would no longer support boxing on the varsity level.

FactSnippet No. 1,486,678

LSU Tigers's teams won two Southeastern Conference wrestling tournament titles.

FactSnippet No. 1,486,679

LSU Tigers produced 15 individual conference champions and was a member of the NCAA wrestling rules committee while at LSU.

FactSnippet No. 1,486,680

LSU Tigers plays in the Southeastern Conference against its traditional SEC rivals.

FactSnippet No. 1,486,681

In 2009, LSU Tigers defeated Colorado and Air Force to advance to the national quarterfinals before losing to San Diego State, and in 2010, LSU Tigers again defeated Colorado to qualify for the sweet 16 round of the national playoffs.

FactSnippet No. 1,486,682

LSU Tigers competed at the 2011 Collegiate Rugby Championship, finishing 9th in a tournament broadcast live on NBC.

FactSnippet No. 1,486,683

LSU Tigers has won 49 team national championships, placing them 19th all-time in total national championships.

FactSnippet No. 1,486,684

The band then plays LSU Tigers's official fight song, "Fight for LSU Tigers" as it salutes both sides of the stadium.

FactSnippet No. 1,486,685

LSU Tigers Cheerleaders consist of both male and female cheerleaders that perform at LSU Tigers football and men's and women's basketball games.

FactSnippet No. 1,486,686

LSU Tigers's cheerleaders compete against other universities cheerleading squads in competitions sanctioned by the Universal Cheerleaders Association .

FactSnippet No. 1,486,687